South Cowton, YorkshireEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England Gotoarrow.png YorkshireGotoarrow.png Yorkshire Parishes S-Y Gotoarrow.png North Riding Gotoarrow.png Cowton South

Guide to South Cowton, Yorkshire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

South Cowton, Yorkshire
South Cowton St Mary Yorkshire.jpg
Type Ecclesiastical Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred East Gilling
County Yorkshire
Poor Law Union Northallerton PLU
Registration District Northallerton
Records begin
Parish registers: 1568
Bishop's Transcripts: 1615
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Richmond
Diocese Pre-1836 - York; Post-1835 - Ripon
Province York
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Bishop (Consistory) of the Commissary of the Archdeaconry of Richmond Eastern Deaneries - Richmond
Location of Archive
Yorkshire Record Office

Contents

Parish History

The redundant church of St Mary is in an Ecclesiastical Parish in the county of Yorkshire, created in 1783 from Gilling near Richmond, Yorkshire Ancient Parish.

Other places in the parish include: North Cowton, South Cowton with Pepper Hall, Pepperhall, and Pepper Hall. COWTON, SOUTH,  a township and chapelry, in the parish of Gilling, union of Northallerton, wapentake of Gilling-East, N. riding of York, 5¼ miles (N. E. by E.) from Catterick. [1]

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Online Records

Online data content from chapelry registers of Gilling exists at some of the following websites and for the specified ranges of years:

FREG = FreeREG - free[2]
FS = FamilySearch.org
ANC = ancestry.co.uk (£)
HATH = HathiTrust.org - free
JOIN = JoinerMarriageIndex.co.uk - (£)
SOUTH COWTON CHAPELRY (1615) Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FREG 1813-1878
FS 1615-1848

1615-1837

None

JOIN None

1813-1837

None

For a full list of all those chapels surrounding South Cowton and comprising the whole ancient parish of Gilling to which it was attached, be certain to see "Church Records" on the Gilling page.

To find the names of the neighbouring parishes, use England Jurisdictions 1851. In this site, search for the name of the parish, click on the location "pin", click Options and click List contiguous parishes.

This ancient parish (AP) was created before 1813.

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 464225.

Poor Law Unions

Northallerton Poor Law Union, Yorkshire

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Yorkshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Web sites

References

  1. Lewis, Samuel A.,A Topographical Dictionary of England(1848), pp. 710-713. Date accessed: 16 October 2013.
  2. http://www.freereg.org.uk/parishes/nry.htm 'Yorkshire North Riding,'] FreeREG, accessed 22 October 2014.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 4 November 2014, at 22:05.
  • This page has been accessed 1,665 times.