South Dakota CensusEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

United States  Gotoarrow.png  U.S. Census  Gotoarrow.png  South Dakota  Gotoarrow.png  Census

Contents

Tips
  • If at first you don't find a name, try again under another spelling.
  • Photocopy each ancestor's census. Identify where you found it.
  • Look for an ancestor in every census during her or his lifetime.
  • On the family group record show each person's census listings.
  • Study others in the same household, neighbors, and anyone with the similar names nearby on the census in community context.


  • For a list of the exact date of each federal census, click here.

Online South Dakota indexes and images

1900-1940

Online Federal and State Population Schedules of South Dakota 
  Free Free at Some Libraries (usually with a library card)* Pay
Family
Search[1]
Internet Archive[2]  Misc.  Heritage Quest[3] Fold3[4] Ancestry FHL[5] Ancestry Library[5] Ancestry Home[5] Archives[6] Family Link[7]
1940 indexes Link - Link
Link
- - Link Link Link - -
images Link - Link
Link
Link
- - Link Link Link Link Link
1935 State indexes Link - - - - - - - - -
images Link - - - - - - - - -
1930 indexes Link - - - Link Link Link Link Link Link
images Link Link - Link Link Link Link Link - Link
1925 State indexes Link - - - - - - - - -
images Link - - - - - - - - -
1920 indexes Link - - Link - Link Link Link Link -
images Link Link - Link - Link Link Link - Link
1915 State indexes Link - - - - - - - - -
images Link - - - - - - - - -
1910 indexes Link - - Link - Link Link Link Link -
images Link Link - Link - Link Link Link - Link
1905 State indexes Link - - - - - - - - -
images Link - - - - - - - - -
1900 indexes Link - - Link - Link Link Link Link -
images Link Link - Link - Link Link Link - Link

1860-1890

Online Federal and State Population Schedules of South Dakota 
  Free Free at Some Libraries (usually with a library card)* Pay
Family
Search[1]
Internet Archive[2]  Misc.  Heritage Quest[3] Fold3[4] Ancestry FHL[5] Ancestry Library[5] Ancestry Home[5] Archives[6] Family Link[7]
partial 1890 indexes - - Link Link - Link Link Link - -
images - - - Link - Link Link Link - -
partial 1885 Federal indexes - - Link  - - Link Link Link - -
images - - - - - Link Link Link - -
1880 indexes Link Soundex - Link - Link Link Link Link -
images - Link - Link - Link Link Link - Link
1870 indexes Link - - Link - Link Link Link Link -
images Link Link - Link - Link Link Link - Link
1860[8] indexes Link - Link Link Link Link Link Link Link Link
images - Dak
Terr
Link
NE
Terr
Link
Link  Link Link Dak
Terr
Link
NE
Terr
Link
Dak
Terr
Link
NE
Terr
Link
Dak
Terr
Link
NE
Terr
Link
- Link
  Family Search Internet Archive Misc.  Heritage Quest Fold3 Ancestry FHL  Ancestry Library  Ancestry Home Archives Family Link
Free Free at Some Libraries (usually with a library card) Pay


Federal population schedules

Microfilm images

Federal Census Microfilms Available from the Family History Library
1940 N/A 1910 1870 
1930 1900 and Soundex 1860
1920 and Soundex 1880 and Soundex


Federal Census Microfilms Available from the National Archives
1940 N/A 1910 T624  1870 M593         1840 M704
1930 T626 1900 T623 and Soundex T1071 1860 M653 1830 M19
1920 T625 and Soundex M1587 1890 fragments M407 and index M496 1820 M33
  1880 T9   Soundex T740    

Indexes: fiche, film, or book

Adopt-a-wiki page
Sdgwlogo2.gif This page adopted by:
SDGenWeb Project
who welcome you to contribute.
Adopt a page today
For a list of microform and book indexes for the population schedules of South Dakota, click here

Federal non-population schedules

Online indexes and images

Online Federal Non-Population Schedules for South Dakota

Free Free at Some Libraries (usually with library card) Pay
Year Type Record Search Heritage Quest Ancestry FHL Ancestry Library Ancestry Home
1890 Veterans - - Link Link Link
1885 Mortality - - Link Link Link
1880 Mortality - - Link Link Link
1870 Mortality (Lost) - - - - -
1860 Mortality - - Link Link Link

Microfilm images

Indian Census Rolls
Supplemental census, births and deaths,1946-1948 Indian census rolls, Crow Creek, 1886-1942
Census of Yankton Reservation, 1931 Tribal census, 1886-1942
Indian census rolls,  1910,1911,1921,1924 Indian census rolls, Yankton, 1885-1931
Register of Lower Yantonai Sioux families, ca.1901 Indian census rolls, Santee, 1885-1917
Tribal census of the Lower Yantonai Sioux, 1895-1940 Tribal census, 1877
Indian census rolls, Flandreau, 1892-1939 Census records, 1876-1939
Lists of males over 18 years of age, 1889 Census records, 1874-1932
Indian census rolls, Cheyenne River, 1886-1942

Indexes: fiche, film, or book

For a list of microform and book indexes for the non-population schedules of South Dakota, click here.

State and territorial censuses

South Dakota often took censuses in the years before and between the federal censuses, the dates are listed below. State census records may have columns that were different or more unusual than those found on federal censuses. The responses and years of coverage may give additional information on the family.

South Dakota (Dakota Territory 1861-1889) state, territorial, and colonial censuses[9][10]
Exact Date Population Schedules
1945 Exist
1935 Exist
1925 Exist
1915 Exist
1905 Exist
1895 Exist for only the counties of Beadle, Brule, Pratt (now Jones), Presho (now Lyman), Campbell, and Charles Mix.
1885 a Federal census of Dakota Territory; see the chart above for details.

Existing and lost censuses

For a list of available and missing South Dakota censuses, click here.

Why use a census?

A well-indexed census is one of the easiest ways to locate where an ancestor's family lived and when they lived there. You can also use censuses to follow the changes in a family over time, and identify neighbors. These and other clues provided by censuses are important because they help find additional kinds of records about the family.

More about censuses

Click here for additional details about how to use censuses, such as:

Sources and footnotes

  1. 1.0 1.1 FamilySearch, a free online service of the Family History Library, including free images of many federal censuses, including an index of the 1880 federal census of the United States; connected with 1880 census images provided by Ancestry.com, a subscription site.
  2. 2.0 2.1 Internet Archive, a free online service includes free images of most of the federal censuses.
  3. 3.0 3.1 HeritageQuest has arranged with many subscribing public libraries in the United States to allow users free access on home computers by means of their personal library card numbers. HeritageQuest provides images of all surviving 1790 to 1930 federal censuses, and indexes to many but not all of them.
  4. 4.0 4.1 Fold3, formerly known as Footnote.com, a subscription site partnering with the National Archives and includes some federal censuses. Free access is available at many public libraries.
  5. 5.0 5.1 5.2 5.3 5.4 5.5 Ancestry.com, a subscription site that provides online indexes and images to all surviving federal and many state census records, among other sources. They have three online editions: (1) an FHL edition free only at the Family History Library and a few Family History Centers, (2) a slightly smaller Library edition free only at some public libraries, and (3) a Home edition subscription service for individuals.
  6. 6.0 6.1 Archives.com, a subscription site that provides online indexes and images to all surviving federal census records, among other sources.
  7. 7.0 7.1 FamilyLink.com, a subscription site that provides online images (and some indexes) to all surviving federal and many state census records, among other sources.
  8. People living in what is now South Dakota in 1860 were enumerated in (1) the "unorganized" part of the Dakota Territory census east of the Missouri River, together with several locales on the west shore of the Missouri River (at Dirtville, Fort Lookout, Fort Pierre, Old Cedar Fort, Old Fort George), and (2) Ft. Randall (now Gregory County) was enumerated as part of the "unorganized county" of the Nebraska Territory census west of the Missouri River.
  9. Ann S. Lainhart, State Census Records (Baltimore: Genealogical Publishing, 1992), 103.
  10. Henry J. Dubester, State Censuses: An Annotated Bibliography of Censuses of Population Taken After the Year 1790 by States and Territories of the United States (Washington, D.C.: U.S. Government Printing Office, 1948), 58-59, 72.


Wiki artictes describing online collections are found at:


 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 7 May 2012, at 23:38.
  • This page has been accessed 8,506 times.