South Heighton, SussexEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England Gotoarrow.png Sussex Gotoarrow.png Sussex Parishes

Guide to South Heighton, Sussex ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

South Heighton, Sussex
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Flexborough
County Sussex
Poor Law Union Newhaven PLU
Registration District Lewes
Records begin
Parish registers: 1542
Bishop's Transcripts: 1604
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Pevensey
Diocese Chichester
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Bishop (Episcopal Consistory) of Chichester for the Archdeaconry of Lewes
Location of Archive
Sussex Record Office

Contents

Parish History

HEIGHTON (St. Martin), a parish, in the union of Newhaven, hundred of Flexborough, rape of Pevensey, E. division of Sussex, 1¾ mile (N. N. E.) from Newhaven. The parish is bounded on the west by the river Ouse. The church, which was damaged by lightning in 1769, has nearly disappeared.[1]

South Heighton was an Ancient parish and is now part of the parish of Denton, Sussex with South Heighton and Tarring Neville benefice. Denton St Leonard

South Heighton Sussex Online Parish Clerks

Other places of worship include South Heighton Congregational Church which opened in 1891 and was converted to residential use.

See also list of places to worship in Lewes Wikipedia

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

From 1837 this parish was in Lewes Registration District
Certificates may be obtained from
East Sussex
The Register Office
Town Hall
Grove Road
Eastbourne
BN21 4UG
Phone: 01323 464780
Fax: 01323 431386
Email:eastbourne.registrar@eastsussex.gov.uk

Church records

Link to the FamilySearch Catalogue showing the film numbers in their collection Heighton, South

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 464162.

Poor Law Unions

Newhaven Poor Law Union, Sussex

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Sussex Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

http://www.genuki.org.uk/big/eng/SSX/SouthHeighton/

References

  1. Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 466-470. Date accessed: 30 September 2013

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 4 November 2014, at 22:39.
  • This page has been accessed 743 times.