South Hill, CornwallEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England Gotoarrow.png Cornwall Gotoarrow.png Cornwall Parishes

Guide to South Hill, Cornwall family history and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

South Hill, Cornwall
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred East
County Cornwall
Poor Law Union Liskeard PLU
Registration District Liskeard
Records begin
Parish registers: 1543
Bishop's Transcripts: 1676
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery East
Diocese Exeter
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Bishop (Consistory) of the Archdeaconry of Cornwall
Location of Archive
Cornwall Record Office

Contents

Parish History

SOUTHILL or South-Hill, a parish in Liskeard district, Cornwall; The church is ancient. There are a Wesleyan chapel, a national school, and charities.

Resources

Civil Registration

Births, marriages and deaths were kept by the government from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

South Hill, Cornwall parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

COPC = Cornwall Online Parish Clerks - free[1]
FMP = FindMyPast - (£)[2][3][4]
FREG = FreeREG - free[5]
FS PRs = FSPRs[6]
IGI = International Genealogical Index (FamilySearch) - free[7]
South Hill, Cornwall Parish Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
COPC 1852-1911
1566-1910
1800-1900
FMP 1676-1837
1566-1837
1813-1837
FREG

1566-1837


FS PRs

1852-1901


1566-1837 1866-1901


IGI 1676-1772




Images of parish registers are available online at FamilySearch Images refer to Cornwall Record Office reference: P 210

Cornwall Online Parish Clerks

An extremely useful resource is the Cornwall Online Parish Clerks page for the parish.

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 241258.

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Cornwall Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

There are many maps and gazetteers showing English places. Valuable web sites are:

  • 1851 Jurisdiction Maps
  • Vision of Britain

Web sites

South Hill in GENUKI

References

  1. 'Coverage by Parish,' Cornwall Online Parish Clerks, accessed 2 December 2013.
  2. 'Cornwall Baptisms', Find My Past, accessed 25 November 2013.
  3. 'Cornwall Marriages', Find My Past, accessed 25 November 2013.
  4. 'Cornwall Burials', Find My Past, accessed 25 November 2013.
  5. 'Cornwall Coverage', FreeREG, accessed 18 November 2013.
  6. familysearch.org/search/collection/1769414, FamilySearch, accessed 26 November 2013.
  7. Hugh Wallis, 'IGI Batch Numbers for Cornwall, England,' IGI Batch Numbers, accessed 22 November 2013.


  1. 'Coverage by Parish,' Cornwall Online Parish Clerks, accessed 2 December 2013.
  2. 'Cornwall Baptisms', Find My Past, accessed 25 November 2013.
  3. 'Cornwall Marriages', Find My Past, accessed 25 November 2013.
  4. 'Cornwall Burials', Find My Past, accessed 25 November 2013.
  5. 'Cornwall Coverage', FreeREG, accessed 18 November 2013.
  6. familysearch.org/search/collection/1769414, FamilySearch, accessed 26 November 2013.
  7. Hugh Wallis, 'IGI Batch Numbers for Cornwall, England,' IGI Batch Numbers, accessed 22 November 2013.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 12 September 2014, at 20:50.
  • This page has been accessed 1,178 times.