South KoreaEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

Asia Gotoarrow.png South_Korea

Guide to South Korea ancestry, family history and genealogy parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Deoksugungpalacefromthebuilding.jpg

Korea traces its founding to 2333 BC by Dangun Wanggeom. Archaeological research shows that Koreans occupied the peninsula since the Lower Paleolithic period with territories expanding as far as mainland China and eastern Russia during the Gojoseon period. Since the establishment of the modern republic in 1948, South Korea struggled with the aftermath of Japanese occupation (1910-1945), the Korean War (1950-1953), and decades of authoritarian governments, undergoing five major constitutional changes.

Contents

Getting started with South Korea research

South Korea Provinces

Gangwon ProvinceGyeongsangbuk ProvinceDaegu ProvinceUlsan ProvinceBusan ProvinceGyeongsangnam ProvinceJeollanam ProvinceJeju ProvinceGwangju ProvinceJeollabuk ProvinceDaejeon ProvinceChungcheongnam ProvinceGyeonggi ProvinceIncheon ProvinceNorth KoreaJapanChungcheongbuk ProvinceSeoul ProvinceGyeongsangbuk ProvinceSouthkorea provinces.jpg

Busan  · Chungcheongbuk  · Chungcheongnam  · Daegu  · Daejeon  · Gangwon  · Gwangju  · Gyeonggi  · Gyeongsangbuk  · Gyeongsangnam  · Incheon  · Jeju  · Jeollabuk  · Jeollanam  · Seoul  · Ulsan

Research Tools

A wiki article desctibing an online collection is found at:

Korean Collection of Genealogies (FamilySearch Historical Records)


Help Wanted

In order to make this wiki a better research tool, we need your help! Many tasks need to be done. You can help by:


Featured Content

(Your text or images here)

Did you know?

Today South Korea is officially known as the Republic of Korea (ROK), an East Asian state on the southern half of the Korean Peninsula. To the north, it is bordered by North Korea (Democratic People's Republic of Korea), with which it was united until 1945. To the west, across the Yellow Sea, lies China (People's Republic of China) and to the southeast, across the Korea Strait, lies Japan. Approximately one-half of South Korea's population lives in or near the capital Seoul, the country's largest city.

  • (Your Bullet)
  • (Your Bullet)
  • (Your Bullet)
  • (Your Bullet)
  • (Your Bullet)
  • (Your Bullet)

(All text below this is included in a column on the left side of the screen.)


 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 3 December 2014, at 00:56.
  • This page has been accessed 9,139 times.