South Leverton, Nottinghamshire GenealogyEdit This Page
From FamilySearch Wiki
Guide to: South Leverton, Nottinghamshire ancestry, family history and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census, birth, marriage and death records.
|South Leverton, Nottinghamshire|
South Leverton All Saints Nottinghamshire
|Poor Law Union||East Retford|
|Registration District||East Retford|
|Parish registers: 1658|
|Bishop's Transcripts: 1600|
|Probate Court||Exchequer and Prerogative Courts of the Archbishop of York|
|Location of Archive|
|Nottinghamshire Record Office|
LEVERTON, SOUTH (All Saints), a parish, in the union of East Retford, North-Clay division of the wapentake of Bassetlaw, N. division of the county of Nottingham, 5¼ miles (E.) from East Retford; containing, with the chapelry of Cottam. There is a place of worship for Wesleyans.
South Leverton All Saints is an Ancient Parish in the Bassetlaw district of Nottinghamshire.
Southwell and Nottingham Church History group are researching the history of this church South Leverton All Saints
The parish church of All Saints has been designated as a grade II* listed building British listed building
See also South Leverton Wikipedia
Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.
From 1837 this parish was within East Retford registration district
Certificates may be obtained for post 1837 events :
The Register Office
County Council Offices
South Leverton, Nottinghamshire Genealogy parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:
|FMP = Nottinghamshire Parish Records (findmypast) - (£)|
|South Leverton, Nottinghamshire Genealogy Parish Online Records|
Deposited records at Nottinghamshire Archives Baptisms 1658-2001 Marriages 1659-1993 Burials 1658-2002 Bishop's Transcripts 1600-1864
Nottinghamshire County Council
NG2 7QP telephone: 08449 808080 online
Link to the FamilySearch Catalogue showing the film numbers in their collection Leverton, South
South Leverton - All Saints Memorial Inscriptions. An alphabetical listing of surnames, given name, date of death and age, of the Memorial Inscriptions in the All Saints Church yard starting at 1779 - article in The Nottinghamshire Family History Society Magazine, vol.91, page 20-25, FHL Ref. 942.52 D25n
Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 438901.
Poor Law Unions
Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Nottinghamshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.
Maps and Gazetteers
Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.
| This section requires expansion with:
any relevant sites that aren’t mentioned above..
- This page was last modified on 2 June 2015, at 20:07.
- This page has been accessed 1,499 times.
Future Changes to the Wiki
Changes are coming to the FamilySearch Research Wiki in the near future. Find out more on the Wiki Community News page.Community News