South Malling, SussexEdit This Page
From FamilySearch Wiki
Guide to South Malling, Sussex ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.
|South Malling, Sussex|
|Poor Law Union||Lewes PLU|
|Parish registers: 1629|
|Bishop's Transcripts: 1667|
|Rural Deanery||South Malling|
|Probate Court||Court of the Peculiar of the Archbishop of Canterbury for the Exempt Deanery of South Malling|
|Location of Archive|
|Sussex Record Office|
MALLING, SOUTH (St. Michael), a parish, in the union of Lewes, hundred of Ringmer, rape of Pevensey, E. division of Sussex, 1 mile (N.) from Lewes. It is bounded on the west by the river Ouse. The church, described as collegiate in Domesday book, and said to have been founded by Ceadwalla, King of the West Saxons, who died in 668, is a small neat edifice, built on the site of the former, and consecrated May 23rd, 1632; it was repaired and repewed by subscription in 1837: the chancel contains an altar-tomb to the memory of Sir William and Lady Kemp. The archbishops of Canterbury had a palace here, the chapel of which has been converted into a cottage.
South Malling is part of Lewes for local government purposes Lewes Wikipedia
South Malling St Michael the Archangel is an Ancient Parish and is a former collegiate Church List of collegiate Churches in England Wikipedia.
The church of St Michael has been designated as a grade II listed building British listed building
Other places of worship include
Kings Church Evangelical church
Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.
From 1837 this parish was in Lewes Registration District
Certificates may be obtained from
The Register Office
Phone: 01323 464780
Fax: 01323 431386
South Malling Baptisms 1629-1978 Marriages 1629-1991 Burials 1629-1977 also Banns and Confirmations held at East Sussex Record Office
South Malling St Michael Bishops transcripts held at West Sussex Record Office 1667-1909
Link to the FamilySearch Catalogue showing the film numbers in their collection
Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 464163.
Poor Law Unions
Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Sussex Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.
Maps and Gazetteers
Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.
- This page was last modified on 4 November 2014, at 22:30.
- This page has been accessed 1,228 times.
New to the Research Wiki?
In the FamilySearch Research Wiki, you can learn how to do genealogical research or share your knowledge with others.Learn More