South Mimms, MiddlesexEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England Gotoarrow.png Middlesex Gotoarrow.png Middlesex Parishes

Guide to South Mimms, Middlesex ancestry, family history, and genealogy: Parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

South Mimms, Middlesex
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Edmonton
County Middlesex
Poor Law Union Barnet PLU
Registration District Barnet
Records begin
Parish registers: 1558
Bishop's Transcripts: 1800
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Not created until 1858
Diocese London
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Commissary of the Bishop of London (London Division)
Location of Archive
Middlesex Record Office

Contents

Parish History

MIMMS, SOUTH (St. Giles), a parish, in the union of Barnet, hundred of Edmonton, county of Middlesex, 3½ miles (N. N. W.) from Barnet.[1]

MIMMS (SOUTH), a village, a parish, and a sub-district, in Barnet district, Middlesex. The village stands near the boundary with Herts, 1¾ mile W of PottersBar r. station, and 3½ N by W of Barnet; was anciently called Mymes and Mymmys; and has a post office under Barnet, London N. There is a Roman Catholic chapel.[2]

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Online South Mimms Parish Register Images and Indexes
 
Baptisms
Marriages
Burials
Earliest
1558
1558
1558
Images
1558-1811 Ancestry baptisms, marriages, and burials[3]
Indexes 1558-1837 TheGenealogist[4] 1667-1767 BritishOrigins[5]
1558-1837 FamilyRelatives[6] 1800-1851 findmypast[7]
1558-1837 Joiner[8]
1732-1837 findmypast[9]
    1790-1837 Ancestry[10]    

South Mimms, Middlesex parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

FMP = FindMyPast - (£)[11]
South Mimms, Middlesex Online Parish Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FMP 1835-1870 1835-1870 1835-1892 1835-1892

To find the names of the neighbouring parishes, use England Jurisdictions 1851. In this site, search for the name of the parish, click on the location "pin", click Options and click List contiguous parishes.

Census and Inhabitants Lists

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 438773.

1666 Hearth Tax
1667 Hearth Tax

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Middlesex Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Manorial Records

Records survive for two manors in South Mimms Parish: South Mimms Manor (1345-1890) and Wyllyotts Manor (1611-1900). The Manorial Documents Register will help you locate these records.

Poor Law Unions

Contributor: Add information about the pertinent poor law unions in the area.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

References

  1. Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England, (1848). Adapted. Date accessed: 04 February 2014.
  2. John M. Wilson, Imperial Gazetteer of England and Wale, 1870-72. Adapted. Date accessed: 04 February 2014.
  3. London, England, Baptisms, Marriages, and Burials, 1538-1812, courtesy: Ancestry (£). Described as St Giles, South Mimms in Barnet Borough. Marriages from 1754 to 1812 are not included in this database. Partially indexed.
  4. 'Middlesex Parish Record Transcripts,' The Genealogist, accessed 10 March 2012.
  5. 'Greater London Burials: Middlesex and City of London Burials: Parishes, Counts and References,' British Origins (£), accessed 4 April 2013.
  6. 'Middlesex Parish registers collection 1538 on Familyrelatives.com,' Family Relatives, accessed 12 March 2012. Derived from Phillimore Marriage Indexes.
  7. 'Parish Records - National Burial Index Records 1538 - 2005 Coverage', Find My Past, accessed 12 December 2013.
  8. 'Search Marriage Records in Middlesex,' The Joiner Marriage Index, accessed 20 March 2012.
  9. 'West Middlesex Marriage Index Coverage,' Find My Past, accessed 8 March 2012.
  10. Pallot's Marriage and Birth Indexes, Guide to Parishes (n.p.: n.p., n.d.). FHL British Book 942 V25pm
  11. 'The Hertfordshire Collection,' findmypast, accessed 4 March 2014.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 30 November 2014, at 19:29.
  • This page has been accessed 3,352 times.