South Petherton, SomersetEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England Gotoarrow.png Somerset Gotoarrow.png Somerset Parishes

South Petherton, Somerset
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred South Petherton
County Somerset
Poor Law Union Yeovil PLU
Registration District Yeovil
Records begin
Parish registers: 1574
Bishop's Transcripts: 1606
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Crewkerne
Diocese Bath and Wells
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Bishop (Consistory) of the Archdeaconry of Taunton
Location of Archive
Somerset Record Office

Contents

Parish History

PETHERTON, SOUTH (St. Peter and St. Paul), a market-town and parish, in the union of Yeovil, hundred of South Petherton, W. division of Somerset, 5½ miles (N. by W.) from Crewkerne, and 130 (W. S. W.) from London. containing the tythings of Compton-Durvill, South Harp, and Over Stratton. There are places of worship for Independents, Baptists, and Wesleyans.[1]

Additional information:

South Petherton is an Ancient Parish and a market town in the county of Somerset.Other places in the parish include: Compton Durvill, South Harp, Pitway, and Over Stratton.

 

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

South Petherton, Somerset parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

FREG = FreeREG - free[2]
JOIN = The Joiner Marriage Index - (£)[3]
NBI = National Burial Index (FindMyPast) - (£)[4]
South Petherton, Somerset Parish Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FREG 1574-1901
1574-1900
1576-1900
JOIN
1574-1837

NBI

1576-1899

Roundwell St Chapel registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

Roundwell Street Chapel Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FREG 1777-1850
1864-1892
1868-1874


Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 474602.

Poor Law Unions

Yeovil Poor Law Union, Somerset

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Somerset Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Web sites

References

  1. Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England, (1848). Date accessed and adapted: 25 September 2013.
  2. 'Somerset Coverage', FreeREG, accessed 13 February 2014.
  3. Somerset Coverage, The Joiner Marriage Index, accessed 21 October 2013.
  4. 'Parish Records - National Burial Index Records 1538 - 2005 Coverage', Find My Past, accessed 17 October 2013.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 15 July 2014, at 13:23.
  • This page has been accessed 1,187 times.