South Pool, DevonEdit This Page
From FamilySearch Wiki
Guide to South Pool, Devon ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.
|South Pool, Devon|
|Poor Law Union||Kingsbridge PLU|
|Parish registers: 1664|
|Bishop's Transcripts: 1606|
|Probate Court||Court of the Bishop (Consistory) of the Archdeaconry of Exeter|
|Location of Archive|
|Devon Record Office|
POOL, SOUTH (St. Cyriac), a parish, in the union of Kingsbridge, hundred of Coleridge, Stanborough and Coleridge, and S. divisions of Devon, 4¾ miles (S. E.) from Kingsbridge.
Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.
1750-1812: transcription held on South Hams website
1664-1839: Free lookup service offered on South Hams website
1849-1872: Free lookup service offered on South Hams website
1665-1837: Free lookup service offered on South Hams website
1664-1938: Free lookup service offered on South Hams website
Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 241306.
1841: Transcription held at South Hams website
Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Devon Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.
Maps and Gazetteers
Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.
Add any relevant sites that aren’t mentioned above.
- This page was last modified on 4 November 2014, at 22:19.
- This page has been accessed 648 times.
Share Your Opinion!
The Community Council Selection Committee is now accepting recommendations for potential council vacancies.Recommendations Page