South Willesborough, KentEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England Gotoarrow.png Kent Gotoarrow.png Kent Parishes

Guide to South Willesborough, Kent ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.


South Willesborough, Kent
South Willesborough St Mary the Virgin Kent.jpg
South Willesborough St Mary the Virgin Kent
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Chart and Longbridge
County Kent
Poor Law Union East Ashford PLU
Registration District East Ashford
Records begin
Parish registers: 1538
Bishop's Transcripts: 1564
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Lympne
Diocese Canterbury
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Archdeaconry of Canterbury
Location of Archive
Kent Record Office

Contents

Parish History

Willesborough was a village close to Ashford but is now a residential suburb of Ashford and is within the urban area, see Willesborough Wikipedia

The parish church of St Mary the Virgin South Willesborough is an Ancient Parish in the Diocese of Canterbury, see Church website

See Edward Hasted The History and Topographical Survey of the County of Kent: Volume 7 (1798), pp. 566-576. Date accessed: 2 December 2 013. at British History Online and Kent Churches website

From this parish were developed:

South Willesborough St Barnabas

Willesborough Christ Church ( at the junction of Hythe Road and Albermarle Road) which dates from 1867 and has been designated as a grade C listed building British listed building.

Resources

Civil Registration

See East Ashford Registration District

Kent County Council (KCC) has a certificate centre at the Mansion House in Tunbridge Wells which holds all the completed registers for Kent since 1 July 1837 and can supply a certified copy of any Kent birth, death or marriage entry from any register within its custody or a Kent civil partnership registration from the government online database.

The Mansion House
(Certificate Centre)
Grove Hill Road
Tunbridge Wells
Kent TN1 1EP

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

South Willesborough, Kent parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

BOYD = Boyd's Marriage Index (findmypast) - (£)[1]
FMP = FindMyPast - (£)[2][3][4]
FREG = FreeREG - free[5]
FREL = FamilyRelatives[6]
FS PRs = England, Kent, Parish Registers (FamilySearch) - free[7]
IGI = International Genealogical Index (FamilySearch) - free[8]
MIDK = Mid-Kent Marriage Index 1754-1911 - free[9]
PALL = Pallot's Marriage Index (Ancestry) - (£)[10]
South Willesborough, Kent Online Parish Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
BOYD
1651-1724

FMP 1538-1911
1539-1936
1538-1943
FREG
1559-1837

FREL
1538-1836

FS PRs 1858-1895 (banns)
IGI 1538-1812 1538-1838
MIDK 1754-1911
PALL
1814-1837

Census records

Census returns for Willesborough 1841-1891

FamilySearch Records includes collections of census indexes which can be searched online for free. In addition FamilySearch Centres offer free access to images of the England and Wales Census through FHC Portal Computers here have access to the Family History Centre Portal page which gives free access to premium family history software and websites that generally charge for subscriptions.
Category:England Family History Centres to locate local Family History Centres in UK
Introduction to LDS Family History Centers to locate outside UK.
Many archives and local history collections in public libraries in England and Wales offer online census searches and also hold microfilm or fiche census returns.

Images of the census for 1841-1891 can be viewed in census collections at Ancestry (fee payable) or Find My Past (fee payable)

The 1851 census of England and Wales attempted to identify religious places of worship in addition to the household survey census returns.

Ancestry UK Census Collection

Find my Past census search 1841-1901



Poor Law Unions

East Ashford Poor Law Union, Kent

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Kent Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

See England, Kent, Wills and Probate (FamilySearch Historical Records)

Local Family History Centre

Canterbury Family History Centre, Kent

Maidstone Family History Centre, Kent

Maps and Gazetteers

WILLESBOROUGH (St. Mary), a parish, in the union of East Ashford, hundred of Chart and Longbridge, lathe of Shepway, E. division of Kent, 2 miles (S. E. by E.) from Ashford. [11]

Websites

References

  1. Percival Boyd, A List of Parishes in Boyd's Marriage Index (London: Society of Genealogists, 1987). Digital version at FamilySearch Books Online.
  2. 'Coverage of Kent parish baptism records', Find My Past, accessed 5 November 2013.
  3. 'Coverage of Kent parish marriage records', Find My Past, accessed 6 November 2013.
  4. 'Coverage of Kent parish burial records', Find My Past, accessed 6 November 2013.
  5. 'Kent Coverage', FreeREG, accessed 6 November 2013.
  6. 'Kent Parish registers collection 1538 on Familyrelatives.com,' Family Relatives, accessed 12 March 2012. Derived from Phillimore Marriage Indexes.
  7. 'England, Kent, Parish Registers, 1538-1911,' FamilySearch, accessed 13 November 2013.
  8. Hugh Wallis, 'IGI Batch Numbers for Kent, England,' IGI Batch Numbers, accessed 13 November 2013.
  9. 'Mid-Kent Marriage Index 1754-1911,' Woodchurch Ancestry Group, accessed 16 January 2014.
  10. Pallot's Marriage and Birth Indexes, Guide to Parishes. Digital version at FamilySearch Books Online.
  11. Lewis,Samuel A.,A Topographical Dictionary of England(1848), pp. 577-579. Date accessed: 08 May 2013.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 3 December 2014, at 18:28.
  • This page has been accessed 4,523 times.