Southall Holy Trinity, MiddlesexEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England Gotoarrow.png Middlesex Gotoarrow.png Middlesex Parishes

Guide to Southall Holy Trinity, Middlesex ancestry, family history, and genealogy: Parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Contents

Parish History

SOUTHALL, a hamlet, in the parish of Hayes, union of Uxbridge, hundred of Elthorne, county of Middlesex, 9½ miles (W.) from London A chapel dedicated to St. John was built and endowed at Southall Green, in 1839.[1]

Churches in Southall - Christian Places of Worship: - Christ The Redeemer Church, Allenby Road, Southall, Middlesex. - Emmanuel Church, Fleming Road, Southall, Middlesex - Holy Trinity Church, Holy Trinity Vicarage. - St George's Church, 1 Lancaster Road, Southall, Middlesex. - Grace Church Southall, Kingston Road, Southall, Middlesex Type: Baptist Website: www.gcsouthall.org.uk. - St John's Church, Church Avenue, Southall, Middlesex Type: Church of England - Website: www.stjohnsouthall.org.uk. - St Mary The Virgin Church, Tentelow Lane, Southall, Middlesex. - Bethany Church of God, Room 9-11, Kings Hall, South Rd, Southall, Middlesex. Type: Pentecostal. - Southall Church of God, 9 Norwood Road, Southall, Middlesex. Type: Pentecostal - Dominion Chapel, Unit 13, Cranleigh Gardens Industrial Estate, Southall, Middlesex. Type: non-denominational. - The Church of God Pentecostal, Western Road, Southall, Middlesex Type: Pentecostal.[2]

Additional information:

Holy Trinity Southall, was built as a district church in the year 1881. It stood within the civil parish boundaries of Hayes St Mary. It was rebuilt in brick in the year 1891. See also Norwood Chapelry.

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

findmypast[3] has digitised Southall Holy Trinity and Southall St John baptisms

To find the names of the neighbouring parishes, use England Jurisdictions 1851. In this site, search for the name of the parish, click on the location "pin", click Options and click List contiguous parishes.

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 438773.

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Middlesex Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Poor Law Unions

Contributor: Add information about the pertinent poor law unions in the area.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

Southall in Hayes on GENUKI

References

  1. Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), Adapted. Date accessed: 04 February 2014.
  2. Southall Churches Churches in Southall - Christian Places of Worship, Adapted. Date accessed: 04 February 2014.
  3. 'Middlesex baptism records coverage,' Find My Past, accessed 29 September 2012.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 15 November 2014, at 21:54.
  • This page has been accessed 1,722 times.