Southampton All Saints, HampshireEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England Gotoarrow.png HampshireGotoarrow.png Hampshire Parishes Gotoarrow.png Southampton All Saints

Guide to Southampton All Saints, Hampshire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Southampton All Saints, Hampshire
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Southampton Borough
County Hampshire
Poor Law Union Southampton PLU
Registration District Southampton
Records begin
Parish registers: 1653
Bishop's Transcripts: 1780
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Southampton
Diocese Winchester
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Courts of the Bishop (Episcopal Consistory) and Archdeaconry of Winchester
Location of Archive
Hampshire Record Office

Contents

Parish History

SOUTHAMPTON, a seaport, borough, market-town, and county of itself, locally in the S. division of Hampshire, 75 miles (S. W. by W.) from London. Southampton comprises the parishes of All Saints, Holy Rood, St. John and St. Lawrence united, St. Mary, and St. Michael. In the town is also a chapel dedicated to the Holy Trinity. There are places of worship for Independents, Baptists, the Society of Friends, Wesleyans, and Roman Catholics.[1].

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

BIVRI = British Isles Vital Records Index (Ancestry) - (£)[2]
FMP = FindMyPast - (£)[3]
FREG = FreeREG - free[4]
FS = FamilySearch - free[5]
PRTS = The Parish Register Transcription Society - (£)[6]

Southampton All Saints parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

SOUTHAMPTON ALL SAINTS PARISH Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
BIVRI 1653-1878 (gaps)
1653-1664, 1685, 1723-1837

FMP 1700s-1800s
1700s-1800s
1500s-1800s
FS 1723-1774, 1813-1878
1723-1754, 1837-1862

PRTS 1780-1812
1780-1812
1780-1812

Southampton Christ Church parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

SOUTHAMPTON CHRIST CHURCH PARISH Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
BIVRI 1856-1885
1856-1894

FS 1856-1875


Southampton St James parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

SOUTHAMPTON ST JAMES PARISH Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
BIVRI 1858-1886


FS 1858-1875
1858-1877

Southampton St Luke parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

SOUTHAMPTON ST LUKE PARISH Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
BIVRI 1853-1874


FS 1853-1875
1853-1878

Southampton Jesus Chapel parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

SOUTHAMPTON JESUS CHAPEL PARISH Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
PRTS 1780-1812
1780-1812
1780-1812

Southampton Shirley parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

SOUTHAMPTON SHIRLEY PARISH Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FMP 1700s-1800s
1700s-1800s
1500s-1800s

Southampton West End parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

SOUTHAMPTON WEST END PARISH Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FMP 1700s-1800s
1700s-1800s
1500s-1800s

Southampton St Matthew parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

SOUTHAMPTON ST MATTHEW PARISH Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FS 1870-1875
1870-1885

Southampton St Peter parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

SOUTHAMPTON ST PETER PARISH Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FS 1861-1875
1861-1885

Southampton Workhouse registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

SOUTHAMPTON WORKHOUSE Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FREG 1848-1909



Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 288813

Genealogy

Blundell, L. S. The Blundells.  History and family tree of Henery and Ann Smith Blondell (with an 'o') married in 1776.  Article covers years 1776-1970, and is found in Hampshire Family Historian vol.10,#4,1982,  pages 200-204.  Family History Library, Ref. 942.27 B2h

The Farley Family circa 1916.  A picture of Mr. Walter Farley and his wife Catherine nee Bingham, and the 3 sons and one daughter Daisy, and a small history of the children entering the Army in W.W.1.  and one of the descendants is a Farnham. The picture is on the cover of The Hampshire Family Historian, and the details of the picture on page135, vol. XI, no. 3, November 1984, Family History Library Ref. 942.27 B2h

Templeton, John.  The 19th Century Oke Family of Southampton.  A short family history of the family starting in 1682-1870, originally from Sherborne, Dorset, who moved to Southampton. Article is in the Hampshire Family Historian, vol.XII, no.1, May 1985, pages 15-16. Family History Library Ref. 942.27 B2h v12

Etheridge, J.D.R. Grandmother's Room. An article about the Ransom family of Nursling and Southampton, including a history, photo of Louisa Jane Gay nee Barnett, and photo of William James Jerome Gay and a family tree of the Ransoms, covering years 1760-1892.  Article in The Hampshire Family Historian, vol.XII,no.3,November 1985, page211-213,  Family History Library Ref. 942.27 B2h v12

Williams, G.H.  The Tinling Family.  The First Lord and Lady Chelmsford.  Anna Maria Tinling, the youngest daughter of William Tinling and Frances, was baptised at All Saints, Southampton, January 1799. Article continues with a description of the family history descendants from 1794-1832.  Article in The Hampshire Family Historian, vol.XV,no.3 November 1988, pages 197-199, Family History Library Ref. 942.27 B2h

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Hampshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

References

  1. Lewis, Samuel, A., A Topographical Dictionary of England, (1848), pp. 139-149. Date accessed: 06 June 2013.
  2. 'British Isles Vital Records Index - 2nd Ed. Breakdown of Records', Genoot, accessed 24 September 2013.
  3. 'Over 1.4 million new Hampshire parish records published', Find My Past, accessed 3 October 2013. Date ranges are not clearly identified.
  4. 'Hampshire Coverage', FreeREG, accessed 23 September 2013.
  5. 'IGI Batch Numbers for Hampshire, England', IGI Batch Numbers - British Isles and North America, accessed 8 October 2013.
  6. 'Parish Records - Coverage', The Parish Register Transcription Society, accessed 2 October 2013.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 4 November 2014, at 22:15.
  • This page has been accessed 2,773 times.