Southampton St Mary, HampshireEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England Gotoarrow.png HampshireGotoarrow.png Hampshire Parishes Gotoarrow.png Southampton St Mary

Guide to Southampton St Mary, Hampshire family history and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Contents

Parish History

SOUTHAMPTON, a seaport, borough, market-town, and county of itself, locally in the S. division of Hampshire, 75 miles (S. W. by W.) from London. Southampton comprises the parishes of All Saints, Holy Rood, St. John and St. Lawrence united, St. Mary, and St. Michael. There are places of worship for Independents, Baptists, the Society of Friends, Wesleyans, and Roman Catholics.[1].

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Southampton St Mary, Hampshire parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

FMP = FindMyPast - (£)[2]
FS = FamilySearch - free[3]
PRTS = The Parish Register Transcription Society - (£)[4]
SOUTHAMPTON ST MARY PARISH Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FMP 1700s-1800s
1700s-1800s
1500s-1800s
PRTS 1780-1812
1780-1812
1780-1812

Southampton St Mary Scholing parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

SOUTHAMPTON ST MARY SCHOLING PARISH Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FS 1866-1875
1867-1885


Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 288813

Genealogy

Blundell, L. S. The Blundells. History and family tree of Henery and Ann Smith Blondell (with an 'o') married in 1776. Article covers years 1776-1970, and is found in Hampshire Family Historian vol.10,#4,1982, pages 200-204. Family History Library, Ref. 942.27 B2h

Contributed by Haughey, Betty.  Sailing for Georgia.  Betty noted from the Southampton Records Office the following details of couples married at the St. Mary's Extra, Southampton while waiting to sail to Georgia.  It gives the Bridegroom and Brides name and the dates mainly in April, May 1738.  Article in The Hampshire Family Historian, vol.XII, no.4,Feb 1986, page253, Family History Library Ref. 942.27 B2h v.12

Bugden, E. V. Portsea, St Mary's - Forces Baptisms - part 1.  Extraction of baptisms in 1813 and 1814 in which the child's father is shown to have been in the Services.  Gives the child's Surname, christian name, name of the parents and the Rank and Unit of the father.  Article in The Hampshire Family Historian, vol. XII, no.4, February 1986 page 257, Family History Library Ref. 942.27 B2h v.12

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Hampshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

References

  1. Lewis, Samuel, A., A Topographical Dictionary of England, (1848), pp. 139-149. Date accessed: 06 June 2013.
  2. 'Over 1.4 million new Hampshire parish records published', Find My Past, accessed 3 October 2013. Date ranges are not clearly identified.
  3. 'IGI Batch Numbers for Hampshire, England', IGI Batch Numbers - British Isles and North America, accessed 8 October 2013.
  4. 'Parish Records - Coverage', The Parish Register Transcription Society, accessed 2 October 2013.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 12 April 2014, at 20:05.
  • This page has been accessed 1,771 times.