Southampton St Michael, HampshireEdit This Page
From FamilySearch Wiki
Guide to Southampton St Michael, Hampshire family history and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.
SOUTHAMPTON, a seaport, borough, market-town, and county of itself, locally in the S. division of Hampshire, 75 miles (S. W. by W.) from London. Southampton comprises the parishes of All Saints, Holy Rood, St. John and St. Lawrence united, St. Mary, and St. Michael. There are places of worship for Independents, Baptists, the Society of Friends, Wesleyans, and Roman Catholics..
| This section requires expansion with:
a summary overview of the history of this parish.
Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.
Southampton St Michael, Hampshire parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:
|FMP = FindMyPast - (£)|
|PRTS = The Parish Register Transcription Society - (£)|
|SOUTHAMPTON ST MICHAEL PARISH Online Records|
Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 288813.
Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Hampshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.
Wilcox, L. G. M. (nee Purkiss) King William and the Charcoal Burner. Different spelling of the name Purkiss, Purkes, Purcas, Purkis also Lovell, Rossiter and Light Pedigree drawn up by information on the Wills, Probates, Some early Mistead burial records. Sketh of William Rufus included. Article covers 1661-1740 and is to be found in The Hampshire Family Historian vol. 17, no. 3, Nov. 1990, pages 163-166, Family History Library Ref. 942.27 B2h
Maps and Gazetteers
Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.
|This section is empty. You can help by adding to it.|
- ↑ Lewis, Samuel, A., A Topographical Dictionary of England, (1848), pp. 139-149. Date accessed: 06 June 2013.
- ↑ 'Over 1.4 million new Hampshire parish records published', Find My Past, accessed 3 October 2013. Date ranges are not clearly identified.
- ↑ 'Parish Records - Coverage', The Parish Register Transcription Society, accessed 2 October 2013.
- This page was last modified on 12 April 2014, at 20:05.
- This page has been accessed 924 times.
Share Your Opinion!
Review redesigns of wiki pages and give your feedbackImprove the Wiki