Southborough St Peter, KentEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England Gotoarrow.png Kent Gotoarrow.png Kent Parishes

Guide to Southborough, Kent ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.


Southborough St Peter, Kent
Southborough St Peter Kent.jpg
Southborough St Peter Kent
Type Ecclesiastical Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Tonbridge Lowey
County Kent
Poor Law Union Tonbridge PLU
Registration District Tunbridge
Records begin
Parish registers: 1831
Bishop's Transcripts: 1831
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery None
Diocese Pre-1845 - Rochester; Post-1844 - None
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Pre-1845 - Courts of the Bishop (Episcopal Consistory) and Archdeaconry of Rochester; Post-1844 - Prerogative Court of the Archbishop of Canterbury
Location of Archive
Kent Record Office

Contents

Parish History

Southborough is a civil parish in the town of Southborough within Tunbridge Wells in Kent Southborough Kent Wikipedia

The church dates from 1830-1831 and was formed as an ecclesiastical parish in 1847 from Tonbridge St Peter and St Paul, Kent Ancient Parish see Kent Churches website

The church of St Peter Church Road Southborough has been designated as a grade II listed building British listed building
see Southborough St Peter

SOUTHBOROUGH, a chapelry, in the parish, union,and lowey of Tonbridge, lathe of Aylesford, W. division of Kent, 2¾ miles (S. by W.) from Tonbridge. It is situated about midway between Tonbridge and the Wells, and consists of a number of scattered houses. A district church has been erected by subscription.[1] Church registers commence from the year 1831.

Resources

Civil Registration

See Tonbridge Registration District

Kent County Council (KCC) has a certificate centre at the Mansion House in Tunbridge Wells which holds all the completed registers for Kent since 1 July 1837 and can supply a certified copy of any Kent birth, death or marriage entry from any register within its custody or a Kent civil partnership registration from the government online database.

The Mansion House
(Certificate Centre)
Grove Hill Road
Tunbridge Wells
Kent TN1 1EP

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Southborough St Peter, Kent parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

BIVRI = British Isles Vital Records Index (Ancestry) - (£)[2]
FS BTs = England, Kent, Bishop's Transcripts (FamilySearch) - free[3]
Southborough St Peter, Kent Online Parish Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
BIVRI 1831-1907 (gaps)
1858-1863

FS BTs 1831-1909 1831-1879 1831-1909

Family History Library film numbers
Southborough St Peter

Southborough St Matthew parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

Southborough St Matthew Parish Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FS BTs 1902-1904

Southborough St Thomas parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

Southborough St Thomas Parish Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
BIVRI 1860-1903 (gaps)


FS BTs 1860-1903

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 306858.



Poor Law Unions

Tonbridge Poor Law Union, Kent

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Kent Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

SOUTHBOROUGH, a chapelry, in the parish, union, and lowey of Tonbridge, lathe of Aylesford, W. division of Kent, 2¾ miles (S. by W.) from Tonbridge. [4]


Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

References

  1. Samuel A. Lewis, Topographical Dictionary of England'' (1848), pp. 139-149. Adapted. Date accessed: 18 November 2013.
  2. 'British Isles Vital Records Index - 2nd Ed. Breakdown of Records', Genoot, accessed 7 November 2013.
  3. 'England, Kent, Bishop's Transcripts, 1560-1911,' FamilySearch, accessed 11 November 2013.
  4. Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 139-149. Date accessed: 20 May 2013.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 30 November 2014, at 06:29.
  • This page has been accessed 2,087 times.