Southern Navajo Indian Agency (Arizona)Edit This Page
From FamilySearch Wiki
United States American Indians Arizona New Mexico Indians of Arizona Indians of New Mexico Southern Navajo Indian Agency (Arizona) Guide to Southern Navajo Indian Agency (Arizona) ancestry, family history and genealogy: birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, parish registers, and military records.
Indian Tribes Associated With This Agency
The Southern Navajo Agency is another name for the Fort Defiance Agency. It operated under the Southern Navajo name for a few years in the mid-1900s.
The majority of records of individuals were those created by the agencies. Some records may be available to tribal members through the tribal headquarters.They were (and are) the local office of the Bureau of Indian Affairs, and were charged with maintaining records of the activities of those under their responsibility. Among these records are:
- Allotment records
- Annuity rolls
- Census records
- Health records
- School census and records
- Vital records
Microfilm copies of ...Narrative and Statistical Reports... for the Southern Navajo Agency, 1927-1935, are included in National Archives Microcopy M1011, Roll 141, available in the National Archives system and in the collections of the Family History Library in Salt Lake City (their microfilm number 1724359).
Annual Indian Census Rolls were taken at this agency for 1930 thru 1935. These rolls have been microfilmed by the National Archives as part of their Microcopy Number M595, rolls 518 thru 531. Copies of these records are also available at the National Archives, their Regional Archives, and at the Family History Library and its family history centers (their microfilm numbers 581893-581906). These census rolls are also available online at Ancestry.com's subscription web site.
- 1937 Census Navajo Southern reservation FHL films 579688-579689
- 1937 Census Navajo Southern reservation (New Mexico) FHL 579690
(these films are a part of the above collection) See also: Southern Navajo Indian Agency and Fort Defiance Agency.
- ↑ American Indians: A Select Catalog of National Archives Microfilm Publications. Washington DC: National Archives Trust Fund Board, National Archives and Records Administration, 1998, Micropcopy M1011, p. 27.
- ↑ American Indians: A Select Catalog of National Archives Microfilm Publications. Washington DC: National Archives Trust Fund Board, National Archives and Records Administration, 1998, Microcopy M595, p. 51.
- American Indians: A Select Catalog of National Archives Microfilm Publications. Washington DC: National Archives Trust Fund Board, National Archives and Records Administration, 1998.
- Hill, Edward E. (comp.). Guide to Records in the National Archives of the United States Relating to American Indians. Washington DC: National Archives and Records Service, General Services Administration, 1981.
- Hill, Edward E. The Office of Indian Affairs, 1824-1880: Historical Sketches. New York, New York: Clearwater Publishing Company, Inc., 1974.
- Historical Sketches for Jurisdictional and Subject Headings Used for the Letters Received by the Office of Indian Affairs, 1824-1880. National Archives Microcopy T1105.
- Preliminary Inventory No. 163: Records of the Bureau of Indian Affairs. Washington DC: National Archives and Records Services. Available online
- This page was last modified on 31 March 2015, at 18:52.
- This page has been accessed 933 times.
Future Changes to the Wiki
Changes are coming to the FamilySearch Research Wiki in the near future. Find out more on the Wiki Community News page.Community News