Southgate St Michael at Bowes, MiddlesexEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England Gotoarrow.png Middlesex Gotoarrow.png Middlesex Parishes

Guide to Southgate St Michael At Bowes, Middlesex ancestry, family history, and genealogy: Parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Contents

Parish History

SOUTHGATE, a chapelry, in the parish, union, and hundred of Edmonton, county of Middlesex, 8 miles (N. by W.) from London. There is a place of worship for Independents.[1]

Additional information:

SOUTHGATE, or, South Street, a chapelry, in the parish, union, and hundred of Edmonton, county of Middlesex, 8 miles north by west of London. It is also comprised of Enfield Chase and is still called South Street Division. The chapel was built in 1615. See also St. Paul, Winchmore Hill which was a chapelry created in 1805 (see Edmonton Parish).

There is evidence of a tiny village of Bowes dating back to the C12th. Until the building of the Weld Chapel on Southgate Green in 1615 and the coming of St. Michael, Wood Green in 1844, the Mother Churches of Bowes where people were expected to worship, were All Saints, Edmonton, and All Hallows, Tottenham [from which this district church was created].

The original church stood on its present site, built on the estate of Bowes Manor, home of Alderman Thomas Sidney (once Lord Mayor of London), who financed practically the whole enterprise - as he had already at St. Michael, Wood Green. The foundation stone was laid on 28th October 1872, and the building consecrated on 21st April 1874.

View more content online, here.

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

To find the names of the neighbouring parishes, use England Jurisdictions 1851. In this site, search for the name of the parish, click on the location "pin", click Options and click List contiguous parishes.

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 438772.

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Middlesex Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Poor Law Unions

Contributor: Add information about the pertinent poor law unions in the area.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

Southgate in Edmonton on GENUKI

References

  1. Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England, (1848). Adapted. Date accessed: 31 January 2014.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 4 November 2014, at 22:30.
  • This page has been accessed 1,234 times.