Southolt, SuffolkEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England  Gotoarrow.png  Suffolk   Gotoarrow.png  Hoxne Hundred Gotoarrow.png  Suffolk Parishes Gotoarrow.png Southolt


Parish History

SOUTHOLT (St. Margaret), a parish, in the union and hundred of Hoxne, E. division of Suffolk, 5 miles (S. E. by S.) from Eye.[1]


See also William White, 1855, History, Gazetteer, and Directory of Suffolk, page 395-396


Resources

If you live in Suffolk then you will have access to a variety of resources; however , for those who live further afield, one can access microfilm and online records at Family History Centers.   Refer to Southolt and Suffolk in the FamilySearch Catalog for available records.

Civil Registration

Southolt is in Hoxne district. To search an index of Hoxne district records go to FreeBMD. The Suffolk Civil Registration article tells more about these records.

Church records

Southolt, Suffolk parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

1813 = Suffolk Marriage Index (1813-37) (findmypast) - (£)[2]
BOYD = Boyd's Marriage Index (findmypast) - (£)[3]
NBI = National Burial Index (findmypast) - (£)[4]
Southolt, Suffolk Parish Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
1813 1813-1834
BOYD
1540-1688

NBI

1539-1904

The Parish Registers begin in 1538.  They can be view at the Suffolk Record Office.  A copy of the registers from 1538 to 1900 can be purchased from the  Suffolk Record Office.  For pre 1813 Bishop Transcript entries you will need to look in Hoxne Deanry, Archdeaconry of Suffolk. Parish Chest records are missing for Southolt.   See Suffolk Church Records for further details.  Southolt lies on the border between the Archdeaconry of Suffolk and Sudbury.

Census records

There are census records available for Southolt from 1841 to 1911. Census records are available on a variety of subscription and other websites. If you need to consult the 1841 to 1891 census on microfilm, refer to Southolt Census in the library catalogue.
There is statistical data available for the census years 1801 to 1931 that records the number of houses, families, people, and other statistical data for every parish in the county.
Refer to the Suffolk Census wiki article for details.

Probate records

Prior to 1858 the primary court that had jurisdiction over Southolt was the Archdeaconry of Suffolk; however, a person’s will or administration may have been probated in nearby courts or even in London. After 1858 it was in Ipswich District.  Refer to the Suffolk Probate Records article for further details.

Maps and Gazetteers

  • Suffolk Gazetteers and Directories from 1839 to 1909 - Suffolk Gazetteers and directories provide a brief history and description of each parish and lists principal residents. They mention the farmers and tradesman in each parish and the nearest market towns among other items.
  • National gazetteers provide a brief description of each place

Websites

References

  1. Samuel A. Lewis,A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 161-164. Date accessed: 29 August 2014.
  2. 'Suffolk Marriage Index (1813-37) Coverage', Find My Past, accessed 9 December 2013.
  3. Percival Boyd, A List of Parishes in Boyd's Marriage Index (London: Society of Genealogists, 1987). Digital version at FamilySearch Books Online.
  4. 'Parish Records - National Burial Index Records 1538 - 2005 Coverage', Find My Past, accessed 4 December 2013.
  5. Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 149-152. Date accessed: 09 October 2013.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 15 November 2014, at 21:45.
  • This page has been accessed 1,551 times.