Southport Holy Trinity, LancashireEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England  go to  Lancashire go to  Lancashire Parishes

Guide to Southport Holy Trinity, Lancashire family history and genealogy: chapelry register transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Contents

Chapelry History

Prior to 1821, when Christ Church was built, the whole of North Meols parish, which stretched from Hundred End in the North to the Birkdale/ Ainsdale boundary in the south, was served by the ancient church of St. Cuthbert, Church town, but the growth of Southport in the early 19th century made the provision of a second church essential, and for twelve years or so, Southport Christ Church seemed to meet the need. But the village continued to grow and expand in a northeasterly direction towards Manchester Road which was the main road to the Lancashire industrial towns, and for some years church services had been held in a small, thatched, barn-like building known as "Halls Chapel" which stood near the present Hall Street (and was demolished in about 1853).

It was evident that another church was necessary, and the Revd. Charles Hesketh, who came to North Meols as Rector in 1835, took immediate steps to provide additional church accommodation both in Southport and Crossens with the help of his brother Peter Fleetwood Hesketh, who was the Lord of the Manor. In October 1836 a bazaar was held in the Southport Assembly Rooms under the patronage of Queen Adelaide, in aid of "the provision of two additional churches and schools in the parish of North Meols". This raised a sum of £450 and the two churches, Trinity and St. John's Crossens, Lancashire were both built in the following year, from plans said to have been prepared by the Rector.

SOUTHPORT, a sea-bathing place, in the parish of North Meols, union of Ormskirk, hundred of WestDerby, S. division of Lancashire, 9 miles (N. W.)from Ormskirk, and 20 (N.) from Liverpool . It is situated at the mouth of the Ribble, on the shore of the Irish Sea, opposite to Lytham. There are places of worship for Independents and Wesleyans; and a Roman Catholic chapel. [1]

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Online index of Lancashire Births, Marriages and Deaths Lancashire BMD

Lancashire Online Parish Clerks

An extremely useful resource for research in Lancashire Parishes http://www.lan-opc.org.uk/

Transcripts for this parish are available.



Church records

Online Records

Church of England

Southport Holy Trinity chapelry's registers of christenings, marriages and burials, along with those of the ancient parish of North Meols to which it is attached, have been mostly transcribed and are displayed online at the following web sites and ranges of years:

AC = Ancestry.co.uk (£)
FMP = FindMyPast.co.uk (£)
FREG = FreeReg
FS = FamilySearch.org
LBMD = LancashireBMD.org.uk
LOPC = Lancashire Online Parish Clerk


SOUTHPORT HOLY TRINITY Chapelry (1837) Indexes
Baptisms Marriages Burials
FS None None None
LOPC 1837-1879 1838-1879 1838-1887
LBMD None 1838-2010 None
NORTH MEOLS ST CUTHBERT PARISH (1594) Indexes (ancient parish containing SOUTHPORT HOLY TRINITY)
Baptisms Marriages Burials
FS 1594-1838 1602-1837 None
LOPC 1594-1835 1600-1921 1732-1911
LBMD None 1837-2010 None 
AC  1594-1837 1594-1837 1594-1837


For a full list of all those chapels surrounding Southport Holy Trinity and comprising the whole ancient parish of North Meols to which it was attached, be certain to see "Church Records" on the NORTH MEOLS PARISH page.


Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 306902.


Poor Law Unions

Ormskirk Poor Law Union, Lancashire


Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Lancashire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

http://www.holytrinitysouthport.org.uk/history.html
http://www.britishlistedbuildings.co.uk/en-479098-church-of-holy-trinity-southport

References

  1. Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 149-152. Date accessed: 27 August 2013.


 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 27 June 2014, at 15:11.
  • This page has been accessed 1,487 times.