Southwark Christchurch, Surrey, EnglandEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England go to Surrey go to Surrey Parishes

Southwark Christchurch, Surrey family history and genealogy research page. Guide to parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Southwark Christchurch, Surrey, England
Surrychristchurch.jpg
Type Ecclesiastical Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Southwark
County Surrey
Poor Law Union St Savior's PLU
Registration District St Saviour Southwark
Records begin
Parish records: 1671
Bishop's Transcripts: 1800
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery None
Diocese Pre-1846 - Winchester; Post-1845 - London
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Pre-1846 - Court of the Archdeaconry of Surrey; Post-1845 - Court of the Bishop of London (Episcopal Consistory)
Location of Archive
Surrey Record Office

Contents

Parish History

Southwark, parlimentary borough, Surrey, on river Thames, opposite London city.[1]

Borough Of Southwark. (In the Diocese of Winchester).[2]

Additional information:

Southwark.—See London.


The five ancient parishes of Southwark include Christ Church, St Olave, St Saviour, St Thomas, and St George-the-Martyr.

The ecclesiastical arrangement for Southwark included also the following chapelries:

  • All Hallow, Copperfield St - 1875
  • St Jude - 1850
  • St Mary Magdalen - 1843
  • St Michael - 1867
  • St Paul Westminster Road.- 1858
  • St Peter - 1846
  • St Stephen - 1850
  • St Alphege - 1872
  • Wilberforce Mission Church -

The places of worship within the new borough, which includes the parish incumbencies of Horsley-Down, Bermondsey, and Rotherhithe. Included in the borough are the following Nonconformist churches:

  • English Presbyterian Church - 1
  • Independents - 1
  • Baptists - 15
  • Quakers - 1
  • Unitarians - 1
  • Wesleyan Methodists - 7
  • Primitive Methodists - 1
  • Wesleyan Association - 3
  • Wesleyan Reformers - 1
  • Welsh Calvinistic Methodists - 1
  • Roman Catholics -3

There were four additional unspecified dissenting chapels in the borough as well.

Resources

Church records

Online Southwark Christchurch Parish Register Images and Indexes
 
Baptisms
Marriages
Burials
Earliest
.
.
.
Images
1671-1812 Ancestry baptisms, marriages, and burials[3]
1813-1906 Ancestry[4] 1792-1921 Ancestry[5] 1813-1940 Ancestry[6]
Indexes 1670-1710
1807-1877
FamilySearch[7] 1807-1812
1828-1880
FamilySearch[8]
    1781-1837 Ancestry[9]    

To find the names of the neighbouring parishes, use England Jurisdictions 1851. In this site, search for the name of the parish, click on the location "pin", click Options and click List contiguous parishes.


Non Conformist Churches

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 474667.

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Surrey Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.


Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

Wikipedia
Wikipedia has more about this subject: Christ Church, Southwark

Contributor: add any relevant sites that aren’t mentioned above.

References

  1. Bartholomew, John Gazetteer of the British Isles, 1887. Adapted. Date accessed: 18 February 2014.
  2. London Eccesiastical jurisdiction. A Topographical Dictionary of England, (1848). Adapted. Date accessed: 18 February 2014.
  3. London, England, Baptisms, Marriages, and Burials, 1538-1812, courtesy: Ancestry ($). Described as Christ Church in Southwark Borough. Marriages from 1754 to 1812 are not included in this database. Partially indexed.
  4. London, England, Births and Baptisms, 1813-1906, courtesy: Ancestry ($). Described as Southwark Christ Church in Southwark Borough. Partially indexed.
  5. London, England, Marriages and Banns, 1754-1921, courtesy: Ancestry ($). Described as Southwark Christ Church in Southwark Borough. Partially indexed.
  6. London, England, Deaths and Burials, 1813-1980, courtesy: Ancestry ($). Described as Southwark Christ Church in Southwark Borough. Partially indexed.
  7. Batches C020702, C020703, C020704, P020701, see: Hugh Wallis, "IGI Batch Numbers for London including Middlesex (N-Z), England," IGI Batch Numbers, accessed 17 March 2012.
  8. Batches M020701, M020702, see: Hugh Wallis, "IGI Batch Numbers for London including Middlesex (N-Z), England," IGI Batch Numbers, accessed 17 March 2012.
  9. Pallot's Marriage and Birth Indexes, Guide to Parishes (n.p.: n.p., n.d.). FHL British Book 942 V25pm

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 12 April 2014, at 20:06.
  • This page has been accessed 2,451 times.