Southwark Holy Trinity, Surrey, EnglandEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England Gotoarrow.png Surrey Gotoarrow.png Surrey Parishes

Southwark Holy Trinity, Surrey ancestry, family history, and genealogy research page. Guide to parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Southwark Holy Trinity, Surrey, England
Type Ecclesiastical Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Brixton
County Surrey
Poor Law Union Newington St Mary PLU
Registration District Newington
Records begin
Parish registers: 1825
Bishop's Transcripts: 1825
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery None
Diocese Pre-1846 - Winchester; Post-1845 - London
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Pre-1846 - Court of the Archdeaconry of Surrey; Post-1845 - Court of the Bishop of London (Episcopal Consistory)
Location of Archive
Surrey Record Office

Contents

Parish History

Southwark, parlimentary borough, Surrey, on river Thames, opposite London city.[1]

Borough Of Southwark. (In the Diocese of Winchester).[2]

Additional information:

Southwark Christ Church created by at least 1671, is one of five ancient parishes in this metropolitan borough, with three registration districts ('St Saviour, St Olave, and St George). The borough lies on the south side of the River Thames, opposite the City of London; attached with the city by the London, Southwark, and Blackfriars bridges;

The five ancient parishes of Southwark include Christ Church, St Olave, St Saviour, St Thomas, and St George-the-Martyr.

The ecclesiastical arrangement for Southwark included also the following chapelries:

  • All Hallow, Copperfield St - 1875
  • St Jude - 1850
  • St Mary Magdalen - 1843
  • St Michael - 1867
  • St Paul Westminster Road.- 1858
  • St Peter - 1846
  • St Stephen - 1850
  • St Alphege - 1872
  • Wilberforce Mission Church -

The places of worship within the new borough, which includes the parish incumbencies of Horsley-Down, Bermondsey, and Rotherhithe. Included in the borough are the following Nonconformist churches:

  • English Presbyterian Church - 1
  • Independents - 1
  • Baptists - 15
  • Quakers - 1
  • Unitarians - 1
  • Wesleyan Methodists - 7
  • Primitive Methodists - 1
  • Wesleyan Association - 3
  • Wesleyan Reformers - 1
  • Welsh Calvinistic Methodists - 1
  • Roman Catholics -3

There were four additional unspecified dissenting chapels in the borough as well.[3]

Resources

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 474658.

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Surrey Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

Contributor: add any relevant sites that aren’t mentioned above.

References

  1. John Bartholomew Gazetteer of the British Isles, 1887. Adapted. Date accessed: 18 February 2014.
  2. London Eccesiastical jurisdiction. A Topographical Dictionary of England, (1848). Adapted. Date accessed: 18 February 2014.
  3. John Marius Wilson, Imperial Gazetteer of England and Wales (1870). Adapted. Date accessed: 11 November 2013.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 4 November 2014, at 22:41.
  • This page has been accessed 1,618 times.