Southwark St Jude St George's Road, Surrey, EnglandEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England Gotoarrow.png Surrey Gotoarrow.png Surrey Parishes

Southwark St Jude St George's Road, Surrey family history and genealogy research page. Guide to parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Southwark St Jude St George's Road, Surrey, England
Type Ecclesiastical Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Southwark
County Surrey
Poor Law Union Southwark St George the Martyr PLU
Registration District St George Southwark
Records begin
Parish registers: 1850
Bishop's Transcripts: None
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery None
Diocese Pre-1846 - Winchester; Post-1845 - London
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Pre-1846 - Court of the Archdeaconry of Surrey; Post-1845 - Court of the Bishop of London (Episcopal Consistory)
Location of Archive
Surrey Record Office

Contents

Parish History

Southwark, parlimentary borough, Surrey, on river Thames, opposite London city.[1]

Borough Of Southwark. (In the Diocese of Winchester).[2]

Additional information:

Southwark.—See London.

Resources

Church records

Online Southwark St Jude St George's Road, Surrey, England Parish Register Images and Indexes
 
Baptisms
Marriages
Burials
Earliest
1850
1851
.
Indexes 1850-1875 FamilySearch[3] 1851-1880 FamilySearch[4]

To find the names of the neighbouring parishes, use England Jurisdictions 1851. In this site, search for the name of the parish, click on the location "pin", click Options and click List contiguous parishes.


Non Conformist Churches

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 474668.

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Surrey Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Parish History

Southwark St Jude was created a district chapel in 1850 from and lying within the boundaries of Southwark St George the Martyr Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

Contributor: add any relevant sites that aren’t mentioned above.

References

  1. John Bartholomew Gazetteer of the British Isles, 1887. Adapted. Date accessed: 18 February 2014.
  2. London Eccesiastical jurisdiction. A Topographical Dictionary of England, (1848). Adapted. Date accessed: 18 February 2014.
  3. Batch C055171, see: Hugh Wallis, 'IGI Batch Numbers for Surrey, England,' IGI Batch Numbers, accessed 2 April 2012.
  4. Batch M055171, see: Hugh Wallis, 'IGI Batch Numbers for London including Middlesex (N-Z), England,' IGI Batch Numbers, accessed 2 April 2012.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 24 June 2014, at 22:31.
  • This page has been accessed 937 times.