Southwark St Thomas, Surrey, EnglandEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England Gotoarrow.png Surrey Gotoarrow.png Surrey Parishes

Southwark St Thomas, Surrey ancestry, family history, and genealogy research page. Guide to parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Southwark St Thomas, Surrey, England
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Southwark
County Surrey
Poor Law Union St Olave PLU
Registration District St Olave Southwark
Records begin
Parish registers: 1614
Bishop's Transcripts: 1800
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery None
Diocese Pre-1846 - Winchester; Post-1845 - London
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Pre-1846 - Court of the Archdeaconry of Surrey; Post-1845 - Court of the Bishop of London (Episcopal Consistory)
Location of Archive
Surrey Record Office

Contents

Parish History

'SOUTHWARK St Saviour Cathedral is an ancient parish and has registers commencing from the year 1538, is the principal church of these five ancient parishes in this metropolitan borough. The borough lies on the south side of the River Thames, opposite the City of London; attached with the city by the London, Southwark, and Blackfriars bridges;

'The five ancient parishes of Southwark include; St Thomas, St Saviour, St Olave, St George the Martyr, and Christ Church..

The ecclesiastical arrangement for Southwark included also the following chapelries:

  • All Hallow, Copperfield St - 1875
  • St Alphege - 1872
  • St Jude - 1850
  • St Mary Magdalen - 1843
  • St Michael - 1867
  • St Paul Westminster Road.- 1858
  • St Peter - 1846
  • St Stephen - 1850
  • St Thomas Hosptial Chapel - 1690
  • Wilberforce Mission Church - 

The places of worship within the new borough, which included also the parish incumbencies of Horsley-Down, Bermondsey, and Rotherhithe.

Included in the borough are the following Nonconformist churches:

  • English Presbyterian Church - 1
  • Independents - 1
  • Baptists - 15
  • Quakers - 1
  • Unitarians - 1 
  • Wesleyan Methodists - 7
  • Primitive Methodists - 1
  • Wesleyan Association - 3
  • Wesleyan Reformers - 1
  • Welsh Calvinistic Methodists - 1
  • Roman Catholics - 3

There were four additional unspecified dissenting chapels in the borough as well.

Southwark had, as of 1870, three registration districts ('St Saviour, St Olave, and St George), within the borough.[1] Southwark, parlimentary borough, Surrey, on river Thames, opposite London city.[2]

Borough Of Southwark. (In the Diocese of Winchester).[3]

Resources

Church records

Online Southwark St Thomas Parish Register Images and Indexes
 
Baptisms
Marriages
Burials
Earliest
1614
1614
1614
Images
1614-1898 Ancestry baptisms, marriages, and burials[4]
1813-1898 Ancestry[5] 1755-1898 Ancestry[6] 1813-1856 Ancestry[7]
Indexes 1801-1866 FamilySearch[8] 1614-1753 findmypast[9] 1614-1812 BritishOrigins[10]
1792-1837 Ancestry[11]

To find the names of the neighbouring parishes, use England Jurisdictions 1851. In this site, search for the name of the parish, click on the location "pin", click Options and click List contiguous parishes.


Non Conformist Churches

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 474670.

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Surrey Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

Contributor: add any relevant sites that aren’t mentioned above.

References

  1. John Marius Wilson,Imperial Gazetteer of England and Wales(1870) Date accessed: 11 November 2013.
  2. John Bartholomew Gazetteer of the British Isles, 1887. Adapted. Date accessed: 18 February 2014.
  3. London Eccesiastical jurisdiction. A Topographical Dictionary of England, (1848). Adapted. Date accessed: 18 February 2014.
  4. London, England, Baptisms, Marriages, and Burials, 1538-1812, courtesy: Ancestry (£). Described as St Thomas in Southwark Borough. Marriages from 1754 to 1812 are not included in this database. Partially indexed.
  5. London, England, Births and Baptisms, 1813-1906, courtesy: Ancestry (£). Described as Southwark St Thomas in Southwark Borough and St Thomas in Southwark Borough. Partially indexed.
  6. London, England, Marriages and Banns, 1754-1921, courtesy: Ancestry (£). Described as Southwark St Thomas in Southwark Borough. Partially indexed.
  7. London, England, Deaths and Burials, 1813-1980, courtesy: Ancestry (£). Described as Southwark St Thomas in Southwark Borough and St Thomas in Southwark Borough. Partially indexed.
  8. Batch P015601, see: Hugh Wallis, "IGI Batch Numbers for London including Middlesex (N-Z), England," IGI Batch Numbers, accessed 17 March 2012.
  9. 'Boyd's Marriage Index - Parish details by county,' Origins.net (WayBack Machine), accessed 27 March 2012.
  10. 'Greater London Burials: South London Burials: Parishes, Period and Counts,' British Origins (£), accessed 4 April 2013.
  11. Pallot's Marriage and Birth Indexes, Guide to Parishes (n.p.: n.p., n.d.). FHL British Book 942 V25pm

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 15 November 2014, at 21:56.
  • This page has been accessed 2,050 times.