Southwell, NottinghamshireEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England Gotoarrow.png Nottinghamshire Gotoarrow.png Nottinghamshire Parishes

Contents

Parish History

Southwell, Nottinghamshire
Southwell Minster Nottinghamshire.jpg
Southwell Minster Nottinghamshire
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Thurgarton
County Nottinghamshire
Poor Law Union Southwell PLU
Registration District Southwell
Records begin
Parish registers: 1559
Bishop's Transcripts: 1633
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Southwell
Diocese Lincoln
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Peculiar of Southwell
Location of Archive
Nottinghamshire Record Office

SOUTHWELL (St. Mary), a market-town and parish, and the head of a union, in the Southwell division of the wapentake of Thurgarton, S. division of the county of Nottingham, 14 miles (N. E.) from Nottingham; containing, with the hamlets of Hexgreave and Normanton. It comprises the districts of Burgage, the High Town, Easthorpe, and Westhorpe, together forming a considerable though scattered town. An additional church, dedicated to the Trinity, was consecrated in April, 1846. There are places of worship for Baptists and Wesleyan Methodists.[1]

Additional information:

Southwell Minster ( St Mary) is the cathedral church and Ancient parish of Southwell which despite its affluence and cathedral status has only been afforded the status of a town in Nottinghamshire. the Ancient parish included Burgage, East Thorpeor sometimes Easthorpe, Westhorpe, High Town, Normanton, Westgate, and Hexgreave.

The Minster Church of St Mary the Virgin and attached Chapter House have been designated asa grade I listed building British listed building

See also Southwell Minster Wikipedia Southwell Wikipedia

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Southwell, Nottinghamshire parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

PALL = Pallot's Marriage Index (Ancestry) - (£)[2]
SOUTHWELL PARISH Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
PALL

1790-1837


Deposited records at Nottinghamshire Archives Baptisms 1559-1955 Marriages 1559-1959 Burials 1559-1988 Bishop's Transcripts 1633-1838
Nottinghamshire County Council
County Hall
West Bridgford
Nottingham
NG2 7QP telephone: 08449 808080 online

Link to the FamilySearch Catalogue showing the film numbers in their collection Southwell

The Cathedral and Parish Church of the Blessed Virgin Mary Southwell. Has a drawing of the church and then  Article gives number, alphabetical listing of surname, then on page 9 it gives a transcripiton of the Churchyard Gravestones, dated from 1762, often giving date of birth. Included in the next article is the Schedule of Floor Ledger Stones, and the transcription of same, dated from 1654. Then there is an Index of Munuments, Charity Boards, Bishops and Provosts Board, War Memorial and Window Dedication, giving alphabetical listing, and then a transcription of the actual stones, dating from 1588. Article in the Nottinghamshire Family History Society Magazine, vol. 118, pages 1-137, Family History Library Ref. 942.52 Vol. 118.

The Accounts of the Overseers and Constables of Southwell from the Year 1697-1871. A listing of Overseers of the Poor 1756-1875, in date order.  Original held at Nottinghamshire Archives Ref DD.M 71/2, transcription in Nottinghamshire Family History Society Magazine, vol. 113 page 60-64, Family History Library Ref. 942.52 D25n

A List of all the Inhabitants of Southwell Lyable to Serve Offices, undated but probably 1716. Gives a list of given names, and surnames. Transcription in Nottinghamshire Family History Soc. Magazine, vol. 113, pages 65-76, Family History Ref. 942.52 D25n

Bestwood Park - Emmanuel Church.  An alphabetical listing of transcription of Memorial Inscriptions both inside and outside the Church, dating from 1821, giving surname, given name, date of death and age. Article in Nottinghamshire Family History Society Magazine, vol. 70, pages 17, Family History Library Ref. 942.52 D25n

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 438909.

See Nottinghamshire Census

Occupation

Transcribed by Bailey, Bryan, Certificates for Using Hair Powder Issued 1795-1978. For each Nottinghamshire Parish, gives the Cerificate no. date, surname, given name, and description. Article in the Nottinghamshire Family History Society Magazine, vol.127, page 1-38, Family History Library Ref. 942.52 D25n - the original is at Nottinghamshire Archives Ref QDT 1/1-4.

Poor Law Unions

Southwell Poor Law Union,Nottinghamshire

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Nottinghamshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

South (Suwell, Sudwell or Fringa-Chester) in GENUKI

References


  1. Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England, (1848). Adapted. Date accessed: 09 December 2013.
  2. Pallot's Marriage and Birth Indexes, Guide to Parishes. Digital version at FamilySearch Books Online.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 22 November 2014, at 14:35.
  • This page has been accessed 1,236 times.