Southwick, HampshireEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England Gotoarrow.png Hampshire Gotoarrow.png Hampshire Parishes Gotoarrow.png Southwick

Guide to Southwick, Hampshire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.


Southwick, Hampshire
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Portsdown
County Hampshire
Poor Law Union Fareham PLU
Registration District Fareham
Records begin
Parish registers: 1586; For more records see Boarhunt
Bishop's Transcripts: 1813
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Droxford
Diocese Winchester
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Courts of the Bishop (Episcopal Consistory) and Archdeaconry of Winchester
Location of Archive
Hampshire Record Office


Contents

Parish History

SOUTHWICK (St. James), a parish, in the union of Fareham, hundred of Portsdown, Fareham and S. divisions of the county of Southampton, 4 miles (N. E. by E.) from Fareham.[1].

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Southwick parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

BIVRI = British Isles Vital Records Index (Ancestry) - (£)[2]
FMP = FindMyPast - (£)[3]
FS = FamilySearch - free[4]
SOUTHWICK PARISH Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
BIVRI 1586-1876
1585-1876

FMP 1700s-1800s
1700s-1800s
1500s-1800s
FS
1628-1837


Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 288795.

Genealogy

Barber, Norman. The Nortons of Southwick.  The genealogy of a 17th century Hampshire Family from 1638-1666, starting with the children of Mr. Richard Norton and Ann Norton nee Erle, starting in chronological order.Also includes a family tree.  Article in The Hampshire Family Historian, vol. XI, no. 1, May 1984, pages 63-67. Family History Library Ref. 942.27 B2h

Crook, Richard. The Crook Lineage 1639-1888. A detailed family tree of John Crook married 15 Jan 1639 at Droxford, to Jane Staires, with baptisms and burials in Boarhunt, Southwick and Hambledon. Tree dates from 1639-1974. Article to be found in The Hampshire Family Historian, vol. 31, part 1, page 66. FHL Ref 942.27 B2h

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Hampshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

References

  1. Lewis, Samuel, A., A Topographical Dictionary of England, (1848), pp. 152-156. Date accessed: 06 June 2013.
  2. 'British Isles Vital Records Index - 2nd Ed. Breakdown of Records', Genoot, accessed 24 September 2013.
  3. 'Over 1.4 million new Hampshire parish records published', Find My Past, accessed 3 October 2013. Date ranges are not clearly identified.
  4. 'IGI Batch Numbers for Hampshire, England', IGI Batch Numbers - British Isles and North America, accessed 8 October 2013.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 4 November 2014, at 22:18.
  • This page has been accessed 2,299 times.