Sowton, Devon GenealogyEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

(Redirected from Sowton, Devon)

England Gotoarrow.png Devon Gotoarrow.png Devon Parishes

Guide to Sowton, Devon ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Sowton, Devon
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Wonford
County Devon
Poor Law Union St Thomas PLU
Registration District St Thomas
Records begin
Parish registers: 1560
Bishop's Transcripts: 1608
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Aylesbeare
Diocese Exeter
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Bishop (Consistory) of the Archdeaconry of Exeter
Location of Archive
Devon Record Office

Contents

Parish History

SOWTON (St. Michael), a parish, in the union of St. Thomas, partly in the hundred of East Budleigh, but chiefly in that of Wonford, Wonford and S. divisions of Devon, 3½ miles (E.) from Exeter; containing, with part of the tything of Clist-Satchfield.[1]

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Sowton, Devon Genealogy parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

IGI = International Genealogical Index (FamilySearch) - free[2]
Sowton, Devon Genealogy Online Parish Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
IGI 1560-1837 1561-1836
Non-Conformist Churches

None

Census records

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Devon Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

Sowton on GENUKI

References

  1. Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 152-156. Date accessed: 3 November 2013.
  2. Hugh Wallis, 'IGI Batch Numbers for Devon, England,' IGI Batch Numbers, accessed 13 February 2014.

 

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 13 July 2015, at 02:44.
  • This page has been accessed 1,332 times.