Sparsholt, BerkshireEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England Gotoarrow.png Berkshire Gotoarrow.png Berkshire Parishes

Guide to Sparsholt, Berkshire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Sparsholt, Berkshire
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Shrivenham; Wantage
County Berkshire
Poor Law Union Wantage PLU
Registration District Faringdon; Wantage
Records begin
Parish registers: 1558
Bishop's Transcripts: 1607
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Abingdon
Diocese Pre-1836 - Salisbury; Post-1835 - Oxford
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Archdeaconry of Berkshire
Location of Archive
Berkshire Record Office

Contents

Parish History

SPARSHOLT (Holy Cross), a parish, in the union of Wantage, partly in the hundred of Shrivenham, but chiefly in that of Wantage, county of Berks, 3¾ miles (W.) from Wantage. [1]

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Sparsholt, Berkshire parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

BERK = Berkshire Parish Records (findmypast) - (£).[2][3]
BOYD = Boyd's Marriage Index (findmypast) - (£)[4]
FREG = FreeREG - free[5]
IGI = International Genealogical Index (FamilySearch) - free[6]
JOIN = The Joiner Marriage Index - (£)[7]
OFHS = Oxfordshire Family History Society - (£). Results delivered by email.[8]
PALL = Pallot's Marriage Index (Ancestry) - (£)[9]
TGEN = TheGenealogist - (£)[10]
SPARSHOLT PARISH Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
BERK Undefined


Undefined
BOYD

1558-1812


FREG

1559-1812


IGI 1558-1812
1558-1812


JOIN

1559-1812


OFHS 1558-1944
1558-1972
1558-1865
PALL

1800-1812


TGEN

1559-1812


Non-Conformist Churches
  • Baptist
  • Primitive Methodist
  • Wesleyan Methodist

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 288804.

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Berkshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

Sparsholt in GENUKI

References

  1. Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 156-159. Date accessed: 3 October 2013.
  2. 'New Berkshire parish records published on findmypast.co.uk,', findmypast, accessed 28 January 2014.
  3. 'Berkshire Baptisms 1538-1928,', findmypast, accessed 13 June 2014.
  4. Percival Boyd, A List of Parishes in Boyd's Marriage Index (London: Society of Genealogists, 1987). Digital version at FamilySearch Books Online.
  5. 'Berkshire Coverage', FreeREG, accessed 28 January 2014.
  6. Hugh Wallis, 'IGI Batch Numbers for Berkshire, England,' IGI Batch Numbers, accessed 4 February 2014.
  7. 'Berkshire Coverage,' The Joiner Marriage Index, accessed 27 January 2014.
  8. 'OFHS Parish Records Date Finder,', Oxfordshire Family History Society, accessed 23 January 2014.
  9. Pallot's Marriage and Birth Indexes, Guide to Parishes. Digital version at FamilySearch Books Online.
  10. 'Parish Records,' TheGenealogist, accessed 25 April 2014.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 15 November 2014, at 22:03.
  • This page has been accessed 1,205 times.