Spencer County, KentuckyEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

United States  Gotoarrow.png  Kentucky  Gotoarrow.png  Spencer County

Guide to Spencer County Kentucky ancestry, family history, and genealogy research page. Birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.

Hand and keyboard.jpg Kentucky
Online Records


Spencer County, Kentucky
Map
Map of Kentucky highlighting Spencer County
Location in the state of Kentucky
Map of the U.S. highlighting Kentucky
Location of Kentucky in the U.S.
Facts
Founded January 7, 1824
County Seat Taylorsville
Courthouse
Adopt-a-wiki page
Kylogosm.gif This page adopted by:
KYGenWeb Project
who welcome you to contribute.
and its representative
Spencer Co. KYGenWeb
Adopt a page today

Contents

Spencer County Kentucky Courthouse

Beginning Dates for Spencer County, Kentucky Government Records
Birth*
Marriage
Death*
Census
Deeds
Wills
1852
1824
1852
1830
1824
1868
*Many years between 1852 and 1911 are missing
Spencer County Courthouse, Taylorsville, Ky. Courtesy: Collection: County Court Houses, Flickr by Jimmy Emerson. Used by permission.

Spencer County Courthouse
2 Main Street;
Taylorsville, KY 40071
Phone: 502.477.3215[1]

Spencer County Kentucky History

Parent County

1824--Spencer County was created 7 January 1824 from Bullitt, Nelson and Shelby Counties.
County seat: Taylorsville [2]

Boundary Changes

For animated maps illustrating Kentucky county boundary changes, "Rotating Formation Kentucky County Boundary Maps" (1776-1939) may be viewed for free at the MapofUS.org website.

Record Loss

1865--The courthouse was burned, but no records were lost. For a list of record loss in Kentucky counties see: Kentucky Counties with Burned Courthouses


Spencer County Kentucky Places/Localities

Populated Places

Crenshaw Little Mount Rivals Waterford
Elk Creek Mount Eden Taylorsville Yoder
Leatherwoods (hist.) Normandy Wakefield Zion (hist.)

Neighboring Counties

Spencer County Kentucky Genealogy Resources

Kyspencer.png

African American Research

The following have information concerning African American research. 

Biographies

Cemeteries

Kentucky cemetery records often identify birth, death, relationship, and military information, as well as religious affiliation.

Census

Historical populations
Census Pop.  %±
1830 6,812
1840 6,581 −3.4%
1850 6,842 4.0%
1860 6,188 −9.6%
1870 5,956 −3.7%
1880 7,040 18.2%
1890 6,760 −4.0%
1900 7,406 9.6%
1910 7,567 2.2%
1920 7,785 2.9%
1930 6,606 −15.1%
1940 6,757 2.3%
1950 6,157 −8.9%
1960 5,680 −7.7%
1970 5,488 −3.4%
1980 5,929 8.0%
1990 6,801 14.7%
2000 11,766 73.0%
Source: "American FactFinder". United States Census Bureau.

1830, 1840, 1850, 1860, 1870, 1880, 1900, 1910, 1920, and 1930 federal population schedules of Spencer County are available online. For tips on accessing census records online, see Kentucky Census. If you're having trouble finding your ancestors in online indexes, try checking printed indexes. Created by local experts familiar with the area's families, these indexes are often transcribed more accurately than online nationwide indexes.

See Kentucky Population Schedule Indexes: Fiche, Film, or Book for more information about statewide printed indexes.

Church

Church records and the information they provide vary significantly depending on the denomination and the record keeper. They may contain information about members of the congregation, such as age, date of baptism, christening, or birth; marriage information and maiden names; and death date. For general information about Kentucky denominations, view the Kentucky Church Records wiki page.

Court

Genealogy

  • [Mills] Hackett, John Davis and Kathryn Dickerson Shannon. "Mills Families of Virginia," The Virginia Genealogist, Vol. 35, No. 3 (Jul.-Sep. 1991):215-228; Vol. 35, No. 4 (Oct.-Dec. 1991):284-296; Vol. 36, No. 1 (Jan.-Mar. 1992):34-48; Vol. 36, No. 2 (Apr.-Jun. 1992):109-119. Digital version at American Ancestors ($). FHL Book 975.5 B2vg v. 35 (1991)-v. 36 (1992).
  • [Snider] Franklin, James O. Descendants of Jonas Snider and Anna Hostutler Snider, Shelby and Spencer Counties, Kentucky. 1950; reprint 1990s. Digital version at FamilySearch Books Online - free.

Land

Land and property records can place an ancestor in a particular location, provide economic information, and reveal family relationships. Land records include: deeds, abstracts and indexes, mortgages, leases, grants and land patents.

See Kentucky Land and Property for additional information about early Kentucky land grants. After land was transferred to private ownership, subsequent transactions were usually recorded at the county courthouse and where records are currently housed.

Local Histories

Local histories are available for Spencer County, Kentucky. County histories may include biographies, church, school and government history, and military information. For more information about local histories see the wiki page section Kentucky Local Histories.

Maps

Military

Miscellaneous

Newspapers

Additional newspapers abstracts can sometimes be found using search phrases such as Spencer County, Kentucky newspapers in online catalogs like:

Obituaries

Probate

Taxation

Taxes were levied on free white males over 21 and slaves aged 21 to 60. These persons are referred to as "polls." Tax listings, or digests, of a county generally list the taxable landowners and other polls and the amount of tax. The records for each county are divided by militia district. For more background information and state-wide resources see the wiki page Kentucky Taxation.

Vital Records

Vital records consist of birth, death, marriage and divorce records. Although Kentucky enacted a statute in 1852-1862 requiring registration of births and deaths,many counties did not comply. A second law was written in 1874-1879, and 1892-1910 but, again, was not always followed. By 1911, the law was more clearly defined and kept by 1920. Any existing births 1852-1960 and death records 1852-1953 can be accessed online. See How to Find Kentucky Birth Records and How to Find Kentucky Death Records for links to indexes and images.

Original marriage records are held at the office of the Spencer County, Kentucky Clerk, with divorce records 1849-1958 located with the Spencer County, Kentucky Circuit Court. For more information see How to Find Kentucky Marriage Records. For Kentucky divorce records see the wiki page Kentucky Vital Records. See also How to order Kentucky Vital Records


Birth
  • 1852-1861 - Spencer County Birth Index 1852-1861. Batch C517981 at FamilySearch - free.[3]
  • 1874-1875 - Spencer County Birth Index 1874-1875. Batch C517982 at FamilySearch - free.[3]
  • 1875 - Spencer County Birth Index 1875. Batch C517983 at FamilySearch - free.[3]
Marriage
  • 1852-1861 - Spencer County Marriage Index 1852-1861. Batch M517981 at FamilySearch - free.[3]
  • 1875 - Spencer County Marriage Index 1875. Batch M517984 at FamilySearch - free.[3]
  • 1876-1878 - Spencer County Marriage Index 1876-1878. Batch M517985 at FamilySearch - free.[3]
Unsorted

Spencer County Kentucky Genealogy Societies and Libraries

Family History Centers

Spencer County Kentucky Genealogy Websites

Spencer County Kentucky Genealogy References

  1. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Spencer County, Kentucky page 275, At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  2. The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America,10th ed. (Draper, UT:Everton Publishers, 2002).
  3. 3.0 3.1 3.2 3.3 3.4 3.5 Genealogical Society of Utah, Parish and Vital Records List (July 1998). Microfiche. Digital version at https://familysearch.org/learn/wiki/en/images/7/75/Igikentuckymz.pdf.


 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 10 November 2014, at 22:05.
  • This page has been accessed 6,813 times.