Spitalfields St Mary, MiddlesexEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England Gotoarrow.png Middlesex Gotoarrow.pngMiddlesex Parishes

Guide to Spitalfields St Mary, Middlesex ancestry, family history, and genealogy: Parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Contents

Parish History

SPITALFIELDS , a parish, in the union of Whitechapel, Tower division of the hundred of Ossulstone, county of Middlesex. The parish was originally a hamlet in Stepney, from which it was separated by act of parliament in 1729 In Spital-square is a church dedicated to St. Mary, There are places of worship for Independents, Wesleyans, and Calvinistic Methodists.[1]

SPITALFIELDS, a parish and a sub-district in Whitechapel district, Middlesex. The parish lies on the Great Eastern railway, and to the S of it, 1 mile ENE of St. Paul's, London.[2]

Additional information:

St Mary, Church Passage, Spital Square Spitalfields was created as a district church in the year 1854 and lay within the civil parish boundaries of Christ Church Spitalfields.

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Online Spitalfields St Mary Parish Register Images and Indexes
 
Baptisms
Marriages
Burials
Earliest
1733
1720
.
Images
1720-1824 Ancestry baptisms, marriages, and burials[3]
Ancestry[4] . Ancestry[5] . Ancestry[6]
Indexes 1733-1876 FamilySearch[7] 1720-1754
1845-1875
FamilySearch[8]

go to See also Spitalfields Christ Church with St Mary and St Stephen

To find the names of the neighbouring parishes, use England Jurisdictions 1851. In this site, search for the name of the parish, click on the location "pin", click Options and click List contiguous parishes.

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 438820.

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Middlesex Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Poor Law Unions

Contributor: Add information about the pertinent poor law unions in the area.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

Spitalfields on GENUKI

References

  1. Lewis, Samuel; A., A Topographical Dictionary of England, 1848. Adapted. Date accessed: 31 January 2014.
  2. John M. Wilson, Imperial Gazetteer of England and Wales, 1870-72. Adapted. Date accessed: 31 January 2014.
  3. London, England, Baptisms, Marriages, and Burials, 1538-1812, courtesy: Ancestry (£). Described as St Mary, Spitalfields in Tower Hamlets Borough. Marriages from 1754 to 1812 are not included in this database. Partially indexed.
  4. London, England, Births and Baptisms, 1813-1906, courtesy: Ancestry (£). Described as . Partially indexed.
  5. London, England, Marriages and Banns, 1754-1921, courtesy: Ancestry (£). Described as . Partially indexed.
  6. London, England, Deaths and Burials, 1813-1980, courtesy: Ancestry (£). Described as . Partially indexed.
  7. Batches C042651-C042652, see: Hugh Wallis, "IGI Batch Numbers for London including Middlesex (N-Z), England," IGI Batch Numbers, accessed 17 March 2012.
  8. Batches M042651-M042652, see: Hugh Wallis, "IGI Batch Numbers for London including Middlesex (N-Z), England," IGI Batch Numbers, accessed 17 March 2012.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 4 November 2014, at 22:33.
  • This page has been accessed 1,237 times.