Spofforth, YorkshireEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

EnglandGotoarrow.png Yorkshire Gotoarrow.pngYorkshire Parishes, S-Y Gotoarrow.png West RidingGotoarrow.png Spofforth

Spofforth, Yorkshire
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Claro
County Yorkshire
Poor Law Union Wetherby PLU
Registration District Knaresborough
Records begin
Parish registers: 1599
Bishop's Transcripts: 1598
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Pontefract
Diocese Pre-1836 - York; Post-1835 - Ripon
Province York
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Exchequer and Prerogative Courts of the Archbishop of York; Court of the Peculiar of the Honour of Knaresborough
Location of Archive
Yorkshire Record Office

Contents

Parish History

SPOFFORTH (All Saints), a parish, in the Upper division of the wapentake of Claro, W. riding of York; containing, with the townships of Follifoot, Linton, Plumpton, Little Ribston, and Wetherby, 3398 inhabitants, of whom 969 are in the township of Spofforth with Stockeld, 3¼ miles (N. W. by W.) from Wetherby. The Wesleyans have a place of worship.[1]

Neighboring Parishes

To find the names of the neighboring parishes, use England Jurisdictions 1851. In this site, search for the name of the parish, click on the location "pin", click Options and click List contiguous parishes.

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Online Records

Online data content from parish registers of Spofforth exists at some of the following websites and for the specified ranges of years:

ANC = ancestry.co.uk (£)
FS = FamilySearch.org
JOIN = JoinerMarriageIndex.co.uk
SPOFFORTH PARISH (1599) Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
AC 1599-1812 1599-1812 1599-1812 1599-1812 1599-1812 1599-1812
FS 1600-1847

1599-1846, 1910-1911



JOIN None

1599-1837

None

For a full list of all those chapels surrounding Linton in Craven and comprising the whole ancient parish of Spofforth to which it was attached, be certain to see "Church Records" on the Spofforth page.

Non Conformist Churches

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 464251.

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Yorkshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Cemeteries

Parish Records

Contributor: add any relevant sites that aren’t mentioned above.

References

  1. Lewis, Samuel A.,A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 159-164. Date accessed: 16 October 2013.

Bibiography

Genealogy and History Websites

Contributor: add any relevant sites that aren’t mentioned above.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 19 June 2014, at 20:48.
  • This page has been accessed 1,129 times.