St. Andrew Parish, GeorgiaEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

United States go to Georgia go to St. Andrew Parish

Before the American Revolution, the state church of Georgia was the Church of England (the Anglican Church, or Protestant Episcopal Church). Besides keeping parish registers, the church kept many records of a civil nature in their vestry books. The Vestry was as much a political body as a religious one. The wardens and commissioners were responsible for the roads, education, the poor and orphans, voting and collecting taxes in addition to their church duties.

Contents

Founded

St. Andrew Parish (location, GA) was officially created in 1758 as an original colonial parish.

Boundary

Borders: St. David, St. James, St. John parishes. For a map, see: Map of Georgia's Colonial Parishes (courtesy: GeorgiaInfo).

Areas Served: St. Andrew Parish served: FIX

Modern equivalent: The original parish covered part of what is present-day county.

Resources

Cemetery

Land and Property

  • Bryant, Pat. English Crown Grants in St. Andrew Parish in Georgia, 1755-1775. Atlanta, Ga.: State Print. Office, 1972. Digital version at Family History Archives; FHL Book 975.8737 R2b.

Parish History

Church Records

Websites

References



 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 10 April 2014, at 04:39.
  • This page has been accessed 1,242 times.