St. Andrews Parish, South CarolinaEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

United States Gotoarrow.png South Carolina Gotoarrow.png St. Andrew's Parish

Before the American Revolution, the state church of South Carolina was the Church of England (the Anglican Church, or Protestant Episcopal Church). Besides keeping parish registers, the church kept many records of a civil nature in their vestry books. The Vestry was as much a political body as a religious one. The wardens and commissioners were responsible for the roads, education, the poor and orphans, voting and collecting taxes in addition to their church duties.[1]

Contents

Founded

St. Andrew's Parish (Ashley River Road, Charleston, Charleston, SC) was created in 1706 as an original parish from the southwest part of Berkeley (1682-1768) County.[2] It is the oldest church building still in use in South Carolina.

Boundary

Borders: St. Philip's, St. James Goose Creek, St. Paul's, St. George since 1717, St. John's Colleton since 1730, and St. Michael's since 1751 parishes. For a map, see: Early parishes in South Carolina. An overlay of districts is available at Carolana.com.

Areas Served: St. Andrew's Parish has served:[3]

Modern equivalents: The original parish covered part of what is present-day Charleston County.[3]

Resources

Cemetery

More than 1,000 graves at St. Andrew's Parish Cemetery are described at Find A Grave. Includes transcripts and photographs.

Members of the DAR did a survey of St. Andrew's Church Cemetery:

  • National Society, Daughters of the American Revolution. Cemetery Records of South Carolina. Typescript. FHL Book 975.7 A1 no. 11. [Includes St. Andrew's Church in Charleston County.]

Parish History

  • Smith, Henry A.M. "Old Charles Town and Its Vicinity, Accabee and Wappoo Where Indigo Was First Cultivated, with Some Adjoining Places in Old St. Andrews Parish," The South Carolina Historical and Genealogical Magazine, Vol. 16, No. 1 (Jan. 1915):1-15; Vol. 16, No. 2 (Apr. 1915):49-67. Digital versions at JSTOR ($).

For a history of the parish, see Chapter 17, St. Andrew's Parish, pages 336-344, in:

  • Dalcho, Frederick. An Historical Account of the Protestant Episcopal Church in South Carolina from the First Settlement of the Province, to the War of the Revolution; with Notices of the Present State of the Church in Each Parish and Some Account of the Early Civil History of Carolina, Never Before Published. Charleston: E. Thayer, 1820. FHL Film 22657; digital versions at Google Books; Internet Archive.

Parish Records

St. Andrew's Parish Register has been abstracted:

  • Webber, Mabel L. "Register of St. Andrews Parish, Berkeley County, South Carolina. 1719-1774," The South Carolina Historical and Genealogical Magazine, Vol. 12, No. 4 (Oct., 1911), pp. 172-189; Vol. 13, No. 1 (Jan., 1912), pp. 21-41; Vol. 13, No. 2 (Apr., 1912), pp. 104-112; Vol. 13, No. 3 (Jul., 1912), pp. 154-162; Vol. 13, No. 4 (Oct., 1912), pp. 213-223; Vol. 14, No. 1 (Jan., 1913), pp. 20-35; Vol. 14, No. 2 (Apr., 1913), pp. 81-97; Vol. 14, No. 3 (Jul., 1913), pp. 147-159; Vol. 14, No. 4 (Oct., 1913), pp. 209-218; Vol. 15, No. 1 (Jan., 1914), pp. 39-50; Vol. 15, No. 2 (Apr., 1914), pp. 97-106. Digital version at JSTOR ($).

Webber's reading of the marriage register has been reprinted:

  • Holcomb, Brent H. and Thomas L. Hollowak. South Carolina Marriages, 1688-1799. Baltimore, Md.: Genealogical Publishing Co., 1980. FHL Book 975.7 V2hsc v. 1

The following church records have been indexed on the International Genealogical Index:[5]

Church Baptisms Batch Marriages Batch
St. Andrews Parish 1699-1783 C506601 x x
St. Andrews Parish x x 1714-1774 M506601

South Carolina Historical Society holdings: "St. Andrew’s (Episcopal) Church. Charleston. Register. 1719-1783. 1 vol. Typescript."

"Births (1720-83); christenings (1719-96); marriages (1714-74); mixed records (1830-99). Printed in this magazine in 1913-15."[6]

Taxation

  • [1785] "1785 Tax Returns," The South Carolina Magazine of Ancestral Research, Vol. 5, No. 2 (Spring 1977):89-93. FHL Book 975.7 B2sc v. 5

Websites

References

  1. "The Formation of Counties in South Carolina," at the South Carolina Department of Archives and History website, accessed 21 January 2011.
  2. "Carolana in 1729" [map] in Carolana at http://www.carolana.com/Carolina/Settlement/carolana_1729_counties_precincts_parishes.html (accessed 21 May 2011).
  3. 3.0 3.1 "South Carolina Counties and Parishes 1750" [map] in Carolana at http://www.carolana.com/SC/Royal_Colony/sc_royal_colony_counties_parishes_1750.html (accessed 20 May 2011).
  4. St. Andrew's Parish Church Marker, The Historical Marker Database, accessed 17 March 2011.
  5. Hugh Wallis, IGI Batch Numbers for South Carolina, USA, accessed 14 September 2010; See also Computer Printout of Births or Christenings, 1697-1783 FHL Film 1002423 Item 1.
  6. Margaretta Childs, and Isabella G. Leland, "South Carolina Episcopal Church Records," South Carolina Historical Magazine 84:259.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 30 March 2013, at 22:06.
  • This page has been accessed 3,774 times.