St. Charles County, MissouriEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

United States Gotoarrow.png Missouri Gotoarrow.png St. Charles County

Guide to St. Charles County Missouri genealogy. Birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.

Hand and keyboard.jpg Missouri
Online Records


St. Charles County, Missouri
Map
Map of the U.S. highlighting Missouri
Location of Missouri in the U.S.
Facts
Founded October 1, 1812
County Seat St. Charles
Courthouse
Address St. Charles County Courthouse
201 N 2nd Street
St. Charles, MO 63301
Phone: 636.949.7550
St. Charles County Website

Contents

County Courthouse


 

Recorder Deeds has marriage and land records;
Probate Court has probate records; Clerk Circuit
Courth has court records[1]

History

St. Charles County predates the state of Missouri which was admitted to the union in 1821. St. Charles was one of the five original districts of the Louisiana Territory from 1805-1812 and one of the five original counties of the Missouri Territory from 1812 to 1821.

Parent County

1812--St. Charles County was created 1 October 1812 as an original county.
County seat: St. Charles. [2] Court records, probate records, and deeds exist back to 1805. 

Boundary Changes

For animated maps illustrating Missouri county boundary changes, "Rotating Formation Missouri County Boundary Maps" (1804-1889) may be viewed for free at the MapofUS.org website.

Record Loss

For a list of record loss in Missouri counties see: Missouri Counties with Burned Courthouses

Places/Localities

Populated Places

Neighboring Counties

Calhoun County, Illinois  • Franklin  • Jersey County, Illinois  • Lincoln  • Madison County, Illinois  • St. Louis  • Warren

Lincoln CountyPike CountyJefferson CountyCalhoun CountyGreene CountyJersey CountyMacoupin CountyBond CountyMontgomery CountyWarren CountyFranklin CountyWashington CountyGasconade CountyMontgomery CountySt. Charles CountyMadison CountyRandolph CountyMonroe CountySt. Clair CountyClinton CountySt. Louis CountyWashington CountyMOSt. Charles.JPG


Resources

Biographies

Cemeteries

BillionGraves:

Census

For tips on accessing St. Charles County, Missouri census records online, see: Missouri Census.

Church

The St. Charles Borromeo Catholic Church was established in St. Charles in 1791.  As the population grew, additional parishes flourished in the county.  Extractions of the early records are available, and provide information on baptisms, marriages and deaths.  An influx of German immigrants led to the establishment of Evangelical and Lutheran churches.  Records of these churches have been extracted and are available for research.

Evangelical

Femme Osage Evangelical Church

  • 1836-1891 - Femme Osage Evangelical Church Baptism Index 1836-1891. Batches C734024 and C726721 at FamilySearch - free.[3]
  • 1835-1896 - Femme Osage Evangelical Church Marriage Index 1835-1896. Batch M726721 at FamilySearch - free.[3]
United Church of Christ

Femme Osage United Church of Christ, Augusta

  • 1835-1875 - Femme Osage United Church of Christ, Augusta, Baptism Index 1835-1875. Batch C515471 at FamilySearch - free.[3]

Court

A Court of Common Pleas was established in 1805.  It was later replaced by a Circuit Court.  Court case files from 1805 to 1845 have been indexed and microfilmed by the Missouri State Archives.  Additional case files are still being processed.

Land

Land and property records can place an ancestor in a particular location, provide economic information, and reveal family relationships. Land records include: deeds, abstracts and indexes, mortgages, leases, grants and land patents.

See Missouri Land and Property for information about records of land transfers from the government to private ownership. After that transfer, transactions were usually recorded and are currently housed at the county courthouse.

The land encompassed by St. Charles County was ruled by the French and then the Spanish prior to the Louisiana Purchase.  Spanish land grants were given to many settlers migrating from territory of the U. S.  One of the famous early settlers was Daniel Boone, who came with over 100 families in the late 18th century.

Local Histories 

Local histories are available for St. Charles County, Missouri. County histories may include biographies, church, school and government history, and military information. For more information about local histories, see the Wiki page section Missouri Local Histories.

A history of St. Charles, Warren and Montgomery counties was published in 1885.  It includes biographical information of many of the prominent citizens of that time. 

Maps

Most.charles.jpg

An 1875 plat map and atlas shows owners of each plat, has some biographical and historical information.  There is also a 1905 plat map and atlas.  The originals have been scanned by the historical society, and saved in PDF format. See their website for purchase information.

Military

Civil War
- 1st Regiment Missouri Infantry (Union), Company K
:- 1st Provisional Regiment, Enrolled Missouri Militia (Union), Company L
:- 1st Provisional Regiment, Enrolled Missouri Militia (Union), Unassigned Company
:- 1st Battery, Missouri State Militia Artillery (Union), Company A
:- 1st Battery, Missouri State Militia Artillery (Union), Company B
:- 1st Battery, Missouri State Militia Artillery (Union), Company C
:- 1st Battery, Missouri State Militia Artillery (Union), Company D
:- 27th Regiment, Enrolled Missouri Militia (Union), Company A
:- 27th Regiment, Enrolled Missouri Militia (Union), Company B
:- 27th Regiment, Enrolled Missouri Militia (Union), Company C
:- 27th Regiment, Enrolled Missouri Militia (Union), Company D
:- 27th Regiment, Enrolled Missouri Militia (Union), Company E
:- 27th Regiment, Enrolled Missouri Militia (Union), Company F
:- 27th Regiment, Enrolled Missouri Militia (Union), Company G
:- 27th Regiment, Enrolled Missouri Militia (Union), Company I
:- 27th Regiment, Enrolled Missouri Militia (Union), Company K
:- 27th Regiment, Enrolled Missouri Militia (Union), Company M
:- 10th Regiment, Missouri Cavalry (Union), Company M

Newspapers

Additional newspapers abstracts can sometimes be found using search phrases such as St. Charles County, Missouri newspapers in online catalogs like:


Probate

Probate records include wills, bonds, petitions, accounts, inventories, administrations, orders, decrees, and distributions. For further information, see United States Probate Records.

In Missouri, probate records have usually been recorded by the clerks of the probate courts, but in some counties the common pleas or circuit courts handled this function. They are frequently indexed.

Original probate court records, probate files, and will books of the 19th century are held by the St. Charles County Historical Society.  Probate files have been microfilmed by State Archives.

Taxation

Taxes were levied on free white males over 21 and slaves aged 21 to 60. These persons are referred to as "polls." Tax listings, or digests, of a county generally list the taxable landowners and other polls and the amount of tax. The records for each county are divided by militia district. For more information see the wiki page Missouri Taxation.

Vital Records

Vital Records consist of births, adoptions, marriages, divorces, and deaths. For additional guidance on researching and using vital records, see United States Vital Records or How to order Missouri Vital Records.

St. Louis and Kansas City recorded births and deaths starting as early as 1850 for deaths and 1870 for births.  The Missouri Department of Health began keeping birth and death records in 1909. County records vary by year and the county. A copy or an extract of most original records can be purchased from the Missouri Vital Records State Department of Health, the County Clerk's office or order electronically online.

Births
Marriages
Deaths

Genealogy Societies, Archives and Libraries

The St. Charles County Historical Society has an extensive collection of materials relevant to family history. They are the repository of 19th century will books, probate records, naturalization records, and court records. They also have many compiled genealogies, and indexes to many church records and cemeteries of the county. See their website, for contact information. The society does research for a fee.

The St. Charles City-County Library had local history and genealogy special collection resources.

Family History Centers

Web Sites



Sites with online indexes or images of records
Missouri Digital Heritage Free digital images of many types of records from institutions across the State
MOGenWeb Free Data may be submitted by individuals or complete transcriptions
USGenWeb Archives Free Data may be submitted by individuals or may be complete transcriptions
Sites that search for links pertaining to St. Charles County, Missouri
RootsWeb resources Free Data may be submitted by individuals or may be complete transcriptions
Linkpendium Free Click links. Some sites they link to may have fees ($)
CyndisList Free Click links. Some sites they link to may have fees ($)
StateofUS Free family history resources and government records
Major catalogs for hard copy collections of St. Charles County, Missouri
Books, microfilm, or manuscripts of genealogical records
FamilySearch catalog Select topics. To select towns, add a comma to the search box.
WorldCat To find nearby libraries that have specific items, see WorldCat Online Catalog.
Allen County Public Library located in Indiana They are heavily involved in digitizing.
Missouri State Archives Library catalog; from this page you must search "St. Charles County"
See also local libraries and Missouri Archives and Libraries
Social networking sites pertaining to St. Charles County, Missouri
Google+ Missouri Genealogy Network Community
Facebook list of groups from "Missouri Genealogy" search
genealogy.com St. Charles County, MO Genealogy Forum

References

  1. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), St. Charles County, Missouri. Page 405 At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  2. The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America,10th ed. (Draper, UT:Everton Publishers, 2002).
  3. 3.0 3.1 3.2 Genealogical Society of Utah, Parish and Vital Records List (July 1998). Microfiche. Digital version at https://www.familysearch.org/learn/wiki/en/images/f/f4/Igimissourir.pdf.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 26 September 2014, at 15:15.
  • This page has been accessed 7,280 times.