St. Clair County, MissouriEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

United States Gotoarrow.png Missouri Gotoarrow.png St. Clair County

Guide to St. Clair County, Missouri ancestry, family history, and genealogy birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.

Hand and keyboard.jpg Missouri
Online Records


St. Clair County, Missouri
Map
Map of the U.S. highlighting Missouri
Location of Missouri in the U.S.
Facts
Founded January 16, 1833
County Seat Osceola
Courthouse
Address St.Clair County Courthouse
PO Box 525
Osceola, MO 64776-0405
Phone: 417.646.2315
St. Clair County Website

Contents

County Courthouse


Recorders Office has marriage records from 1855 and
marriage from 1855 and land records from 1867; Clerk Circuit
Court has divorce and probate records[1]

History

Parent County

1833--St. Clair County was created 16 January 1833 from Lafayette County. St. Clair lost land to Pettis County 26 January 1833 and attached to Rives County, until formally organized 29 January 1841. County seat: Osceola [2]

Boundary Changes

For animated maps illustrating Missouri county boundary changes, "Rotating Formation Missouri County Boundary Maps" (1804-1889) may be viewed for free at the MapofUS.org website.

Record Loss

For a list of record loss in Missouri counties see: Missouri Counties with Burned Courthouses

Places/Localities

Town/city records in the FamilySearch Catalog

Populated Places

Neighboring Counties

Bates  • Benton  • Cedar  • Henry  • Hickory  • Polk  • Vernon

St. Clair CountyCedar CountyPolk CountyHickory CountyDallas CountyBenton CountyPettis CountyJohnson CountyCass CountyBates CountyHenry CountyVernon CountyJasper CountyBarton CountyLawrence CountyDade CountyGreene CountyBourbon CountyLinn CountyMiami CountyCrawford CountyAllen CountyNeosho CountyAnderson CountyCoffey CountyOsage CountyFranklin CountyWilson CountyWoodson CountyMOSt. Clair (1).JPG


Resources

Cemeteries

Census

For tips on accessing St. Clair County, Missouri census records online, see: Missouri Census.

Church

Church records and the information they provide vary significantly depending on the denomination and the record keeper. They may contain information about members of the congregation, such as age, date of baptism, christening, or birth; marriage information and maiden names; and death date. For general information about Missouri denominations, view the Missouri Church Records wiki page.

Court

Land

Land and property records can place an ancestor in a particular location, provide economic information, and reveal family relationships. Land records include: deeds, abstracts and indexes, mortgages, leases, grants and land patents.

See Missouri Land and Property for information about records of land transfers from the government to private ownership. After that transfer, transactions were usually recorded and are currently housed at the county courthouse.

Local Histories

Local histories are available for St. Clair County, Missouri. County histories may include biographies, church, school and government history, and military information. For more information about local histories, see the Wiki page section Missouri Local Histories.

  • The History of Henry and St. Clair Counties, Missouri : containing a history of these counties, their cities, towns...biographical sketches...statistics.... St. Joseph, Mo. : National Historical Co., 1883.

Maps

Most.clair.jpg

Military

Civil War
- 60th Regiment, Enrolled Missouri Militia (Union), Company E
:- 12th Regiment, Missouri Infantry (Union), Company B
:- 16th Regiment, Missouri Cavalry - Confederate, Company I
:- 23rd Regiment, Enrolled Missouri Militia (Union), Company F
:- 2nd Regiment, Missouri Infantry - Confederate, Company A
:- 2nd Regiment, Missouri Infantry - Confederate, Company B
:- 2nd Regiment, Missouri Infantry - Confederate, Company C
:- 2nd Regiment, Missouri Infantry - Confederate, Company D
:- 2nd Regiment, Missouri Infantry - Confederate, Company E
:- 2nd Regiment, Missouri Infantry - Confederate, Company F
:- 2nd Regiment, Missouri Infantry - Confederate, Company G
:- 2nd Regiment, Missouri Infantry - Confederate, Company H
:- 2nd Regiment, Missouri Infantry - Confederate, Company I
:- 2nd Regiment, Missouri Infantry - Confederate, Company K
:- 3rd Regiment, Missouri Infantry - Confederate, Company C
:- 3rd Regiment, Missouri Infantry - Confederate, Company G
:- 5th Provisional Regiment, Enrolled Missouri Militia (Union), Company H
:- 5th Provisional Regiment, Enrolled Missouri Militia (Union), Company L
:- 5th Provisional Regiment, Enrolled Missouri Militia (Union), Company M
:- 5th Regiment, Missouri Infantry - Confederate, Company F
:- 5th Regiment, Missouri Infantry - Confederate, Company I
:- 60th Regiment, Enrolled Missouri Militia (Union), Company D

Newspapers

Additional newspapers abstracts can sometimes be found using search phrases such as St. Clair County, Missouri newspapers in online catalogs like:


Probate

Probate records include wills, bonds, petitions, accounts, inventories, administrations, orders, decrees, and distributions. For further information, see United States Probate Records.

In Missouri, probate records have usually been recorded by the clerks of the probate courts, but in some counties the common pleas or circuit courts handled this function. They are frequently indexed.

Taxation

Taxes were levied on free white males over 21 and slaves aged 21 to 60. These persons are referred to as "polls." Tax listings, or digests, of a county generally list the taxable landowners and other polls and the amount of tax. The records for each county are divided by militia district. For more information see the wiki page Missouri Taxation.

Vital Records

Vital Records consist of births, adoptions, marriages, divorces, and deaths. For additional guidance on researching and using vital records, see United States Vital Records or How to order Missouri Vital Records.

St. Louis and Kansas City recorded births and deaths starting as early as 1850 for deaths and 1870 for births.  The Missouri Department of Health began keeping birth and death records in 1909. County records vary by year and the county. A copy or an extract of most original records can be purchased from the Missouri Vital Records State Department of Health, the County Clerk's office or order electronically online.

Births
  • 1848-1867 - St. Clair County Birth Index 1848-1867. Batch C515161 at FamilySearch - free.[3]
Marriages
  • 1855-1885 - St. Clair County Marriage Index 1855-1885. Batches M515161 and M515162 at FamilySearch - free.[3]
Deaths

Societies and Libraries

Genealogy Societies, Archives and Libraries

St. Clair County Historical Society
660 Main Street
PO Box 376
Osceola, MO 64776
Phone: (417) 646-8455
Email: stcchs@gmail.com
Website: http://www.stclaircountyhistoricalsociety.org/

St. Clair County Library
Main Branch: Osceola
115 Chestnut
Osceola, MO 64776
Phone: (417) 646-2214
Website: http://mostclair.lib.mo.us/genealogy.html


Family History Centers

Web Sites



Sites with online indexes or images of records
Missouri Digital Heritage Free digital images of many types of records from institutions across the State
MOGenWeb Free Data may be submitted by individuals or complete transcriptions
USGenWeb Archives Free Data may be submitted by individuals or may be complete transcriptions
Sites that search for links pertaining to St. Clair County, Missouri
RootsWeb resources Free Data may be submitted by individuals or may be complete transcriptions
Linkpendium Free Click links. Some sites they link to may have fees ($)
CyndisList Free Click links. Some sites they link to may have fees ($)
StateofUS Free family history resources and government records
Major catalogs for hard copy collections of St. Clair County, Missouri
Books, microfilm, or manuscripts of genealogical records
FamilySearch catalog Select topics. To select towns, add a comma to the search box.
WorldCat To find nearby libraries that have specific items, see WorldCat Online Catalog.
Allen County Public Library located in Indiana They are heavily involved in digitizing.
Missouri State Archives Library catalog; from this page you must search "St. Clair County"
See also local libraries and Missouri Archives and Libraries
Social networking sites pertaining to St. Clair County, Missouri
Google+ Missouri Genealogy Network Community
Facebook list of groups from "Missouri Genealogy" search
genealogy.com St. Clair County, MO Genealogy Forum

References

  1. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), St. Clair County, Missouri. Page 405 At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  2. The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America,10th ed. (Draper, UT:Everton Publishers, 2002).
  3. 3.0 3.1 Genealogical Society of Utah, Parish and Vital Records List (July 1998). Microfiche. Digital version at https://www.familysearch.org/learn/wiki/en/images/f/f4/Igimissourir.pdf.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 3 December 2014, at 19:12.
  • This page has been accessed 7,594 times.