St. Francois County, MissouriEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

United States Gotoarrow.png Missouri Gotoarrow.png St. Francois County

Guide to St. Francois County Missouri genealogy. Birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.

Hand and keyboard.jpg Missouri
Online Records


St. Francois County, Missouri
Map
Map of the U.S. highlighting Missouri
Location of Missouri in the U.S.
Facts
Founded December 19, 1821
County Seat Farmington
Courthouse
Address St. Francois County Courthouse
County Courthouse Square
Farmington, MO 63640
Phone: 573.756.5411
St. Francois County Website

Contents

County Courthouse


County Records has marriage and land records;
Clerk Circuit Court has divorce records;
Associate Circuit Court has probarte records[1]

History

Parent County

1821--St. Francois County was created 19 December 1821 from Jefferson, Ste. Genevieve and Washington Counties.
County seat: Farmington [2]

St. Francois County Missouri Genealogy and History on Facebook.

Boundary Changes

For animated maps illustrating Missouri county boundary changes, "Rotating Formation Missouri County Boundary Maps" (1804-1889) may be viewed for free at the MapofUS.org website.

Record Loss

For a list of record loss in Missouri counties see: Missouri Counties with Burned Courthouses

Places/Localities

Town/city records in the FamilySearch Catalog

Populated Places

Neighboring Counties

Ste. Genevieve CountyJefferson CountyWashington CountySt. Francois CountyFranklin CountyBollinger CountySt. Louis CountyMadison CountyRandolph CountyMonroe CountySt. Clair CountyWashington CountySt. Charles CountyReynolds CountyPerry CountySte. Genevieve CountyCape Girardeau CountyIron CountyMOSt. Francois.JPG


Resources

African American

  • 1865-1885 - St. Francois County Colored Marriage Index 1865-1885. Batch M515681 at FamilySearch - free.[3]

Cemeteries

Census

For tips on accessing St. Francois County, Missouri census records online, see: Missouri Census.

Church

Church records and the information they provide vary significantly depending on the denomination and the record keeper. They may contain information about members of the congregation, such as age, date of baptism, christening, or birth; marriage information and maiden names; and death date. For general information about Missouri denominations, view the Missouri Church Records wiki page.

Court

Land

Land and property records can place an ancestor in a particular location, provide economic information, and reveal family relationships. Land records include: deeds, abstracts and indexes, mortgages, leases, grants and land patents.

See Missouri Land and Property for information about records of land transfers from the government to private ownership. After that transfer, transactions were usually recorded and are currently housed at the county courthouse.

Local Histories

Local histories are available for St. Francois County, Missouri. County histories may include biographies, church, school and government history, and military information. For more information about local histories, see the Wiki page section Missouri Local Histories.

Maps

Most.francois.jpg

Military

Civil War
- 68th Regiment, Enrolled Missouri Milita (Union), Company B

Newspapers

Additional newspapers abstracts can sometimes be found using search phrases such as St. Francois County, Missouri newspapers in online catalogs like:


Probate

Probate records include wills, bonds, petitions, accounts, inventories, administrations, orders, decrees, and distributions. For further information, see United States Probate Records.

In Missouri, probate records have usually been recorded by the clerks of the probate courts, but in some counties the common pleas or circuit courts handled this function. They are frequently indexed.

Taxation

Taxes were levied on free white males over 21 and slaves aged 21 to 60. These persons are referred to as "polls." Tax listings, or digests, of a county generally list the taxable landowners and other polls and the amount of tax. The records for each county are divided by militia district. For more information see the wiki page Missouri Taxation.

Vital Records

Vital Records consist of births, adoptions, marriages, divorces, and deaths. For additional guidance on researching and using vital records, see United States Vital Records or How to order Missouri Vital Records.

St. Louis and Kansas City recorded births and deaths starting as early as 1850 for deaths and 1870 for births.  The Missouri Department of Health began keeping birth and death records in 1909. County records vary by year and the county. A copy or an extract of most original records can be purchased from the Missouri Vital Records State Department of Health, the County Clerk's office or order electronically online.

Births
Marriages
Deaths

Genealogy Societies, Archives and Libraries

St. Francois County Historical Society
P.O. Box 575
Farmington, Mo. 63640
Website: http://freepages.genealogy.rootsweb.ancestry.com/~mackley/St_Francois_Hist_Soc_page.htm

Farmington Public Library‎
108 West Harrison Street
Farmington, MO 63640
Phone: (573) 756-5779
Website: http://www.farmington-mo.gov/library/index.cfm

Farmington Public Library Genealogy Department has many good St. Francois County resources.

Family History Centers