St. Georges Parish, Accomack, VirginiaEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

United States  Gotoarrow.png  Virginia  Gotoarrow.png  St. George's Parish (Accomack Co.)

Contents

History

St. George's Parish has served Accomack County, Virginia. It is located in Pungoteague.

Founded

Boundary

Resources

Cemetery

A survey of the graves at St. Georges Church was published in 1992.[2] It is available online at Eastern Shore Stuff. FHL Book 975.516 V3m 1992.

Parish History

The Parishes in Accomac County, Virginia (1907) has been digitized by Google Books.[3]

St. George Parish reports:[4]

Parish Records

Overseers of the Poor
Parish Registers

Colonial parish registers do not survive.

Vestry Books

The original St. George's Parish vestry books (1763-1787) are kept at the Library of Virginia. Copies: FHL Film 33853. Abstracts:

Websites

References

  1. Freddie Spradlin, "Parishes of Virginia," VAGenWeb, accessed 29 January 2011; Hening's Statutes at Large; Emily J. Salmon and Edward D.C. Campbell Jr., The Hornbook of Virginia History (Richmond: Library of Virginia, 1994).
  2. Jean Merritt Mihalyka and Faye Downing Wilson, Graven Stones: Inscriptions from Lower Accomack County, Virginia, Including Liberty and Parksley Cemeteries (Bowie, Md.: Heritage books, Inc., 1992).
  3. Colonial Churches: A Series of Sketches of Churches in the Original Colony of Virginia (Richmond, Va.: Southern Churchman Co., 1907), 304-309.
  4. Francis Lister Hawks, A Narrative of Events Connected with the Rise and Progress of the Protestant Episcopal Church in Virginia: To Which is Added an Appendix, Containing the Journals of the Conventions in Virginia from the Commencement to the Present Time (New York: Harper and Brothers, 1836). Digital version at Google Books.

{{Navbox |name = Virginia |state = autocollapse |style = width: 100%; |title = Links to Virginia-related articles |titlestyle = text-align: center; |basestyle = background: #EEEEEE; |groupstyle = font-size: 85%; padding:0.22em 0; line-height:1.3em; |liststyle = background: #f3f3f3; font-size: 85%; padding:0.22em 0; line-height:1.3em;

|group1 = Topics

|list1 =

Introduction · African Americans · American Indians · Archives and Libraries · Bible Records · Biography · Cemeteries · Census · Church Records · Court Records · Digital Collections · Directories · Emigration and Immigration · Gazetteers · Genealogy · Heraldry · History · Land and Property · Law and Legislation · Maps · Military Records · Naturalization and Citizenship · Newspapers · Occupations · Online Records · Periodicals · Probate Records · Public Records · Schools · Societies · Taxation · Vital Records · Voting Registers · For Further Reading

|group2 = Counties |list2 = Accomack · Albemarle · Alleghany · Amelia · Amherst · Appomattox · Arlington · Augusta · Bath · Bedford · Bland · Botetourt · Brunswick · Buchanan · Buckingham · Campbell · Caroline · Carroll · Charles City · Charlotte · Chesterfield · Clarke · Craig · Culpeper · Cumberland · Dickenson · Dinwiddie · Essex · Fairfax · Fauquier · Floyd · Fluvanna · Franklin · Frederick · Giles · Gloucester · Goochland · Grayson · Greene · Greensville · Halifax · Hanover · Henrico · Henry · Highland · Isle of Wight · James City · King and Queen · King George · King William · Lancaster · Lee · Loudoun · Louisa · Lunenburg · Madison · Mathews · Mecklenburg · Middlesex · Montgomery · Nelson · New Kent · Northampton · Northumberland · Nottoway · Orange · Page · Patrick · Pittsylvania · Powhatan · Prince Edward · Prince George · Prince William · Pulaski · Rappahannock (New) · Richmond · Roanoke · Rockbridge · Rockingham · Russell · Scott · Shenandoah · Smyth · Southampton · Spotsylvania · Stafford · Surry · Sussex · Tazewell · Warren · Washington · Westmoreland · Wise · Wythe · York

|group3 = Independent
Cities
|list3 = Alexandria · Bedford · Bristol · Buena Vista · Charlottesville · Chesapeake · Clifton Forge · Colonial Heights · Covington · Danville · Emporia · Fairfax · Falls Church · Franklin · Fredericksburg · Galax · Hampton · Harrisonburg · Hopewell · Lexington · Lynchburg · Manassas Park · Martinsville · Newport News · Norfolk · Norton · Petersburg · Poquoson · Portsmouth · Radford · Richmond · Roanoke · Salem · Staunton · Suffolk · Virginia Beach · Waynesboro · Williamsburg · Winchester

|group4 = Extinct
Counties
and Cities
|list4 =

Alexandria County  · Dunmore · Elizabeth City · Fincastle · Illinois · Kentucky · Manchester · Nansemond · Norfolk · Norfolk (Lower) · Norfolk (New) · Norfolk (South) · Norfolk (Upper) · Princess Anne · Rappahannock (Old) · South Boston · Warwick · West Augusta · Yohogania

|group5 = Counties
gone to
Kentucky
|list5 = Bourbon · Fayette · Jefferson · Kentucky (extinct) · Lincoln · Madison · Mason · Mercer · Nelson · Woodford

|group6 = Counties
gone to
West Virginia
|list6 = Barbour · Berkeley · Boone · Braxton · Brooke · Cabell · Calhoun · Clay · Doddridge · Fayette · Gilmer · Greenbrier · Hampshire · Hancock · Hardy · Harrison · Jackson · Jefferson · Kanawha · Lewis · Logan · Marion · Marshall · Mason · McDowell · Mercer · Monongalia · Monroe · Morgan · Nicholas · Ohio · Pendleton · Pleasants · Pocahontas · Preston · Putnam · Raleigh · Randolph · Ritchie · Roane · Taylor · Tucker · Tyler · Upshur · Wayne · Webster · Wetzel · Wirt · Wood · Wyoming

|group7 = Colonial
Parishes

|list7 =

Abingdon · Accomac · Accomack · Albemarle · Amherst · Antrim · Appomattox · Argall's Gift · Augusta · Bath · Beckford · Berkeley · Blisland · Blount Point · Botetourt · Boutracy · Bristol · Bromfield · Brunswick · Bruton · Camden · Cameron · Charles City · Charles · Charles River · Chickacoan · Chickahominy · Chippokes · Chiskiack · Chotank · Christ Church (Lancaster Co.) · Christ Church (Middlesex Co.) · Chuckatuck · Cople · Cornwall · Cumberland · Dale · Denbigh · Dettingen · Drysdale · East · Elizabeth City · Elizabeth River · Fairfax · Fairfield · Farnham · Flowerdew Hundred · Fluvanna · Frederick · Fredericksville · Hamilton · Hampton · Hanover · Harrop · Henrico · Hog Island · Hungars · James City · Jordan's Journey · Kecoughtan · Kingston · King William · Lancaster · Lawnes Creek · Lee · Leeds · Lexington · Littleton · Lower (Elizabeth City Co.) · Lower (Isle of Wight Co.)  · Lower (Lancaster Co.)  · Lower (Nansemond Co.) · Lower (Northampton Co.) · Lower (Stafford Co.) · Lower (Upper Norfolk Co.) · Lower Suffolk · Lunenburg · Lynnhaven · Machodick · Manchester · Marston · Martin's Brandon · Martin's Hundred · Meherrin · Middle Plantation · Middletowne · Montgomery · Mulberry Island · New Poquoson · Newport · Nomini · Norborne · Northampton · North Farnham · Nottoway (Prince Edward Co.) · Nottoway (Southampton Co.) · Nutmeg Quarter · Occohannock · Overwharton · Patrick · Petsworth · Piankatank · Piscataway · Poropotank · Portsmouth · Potomac · Raleigh · Richmond · Rockbridge · Rockingham · Russell · St. Andrew's · St. Anne's (Albemarle Co.) · St. Anne's (Essex and Caroline Cos.) · St. Asaph's · St. Brides · St. David's · St. George's (Accomack Co.)  · St. George's (Spotsylvania Co.) · St. James Northam · St. James Southam · St. James's (Goochland Co.) · St. James's (Mecklenburg Co.) · St. John's · St. Luke's · St. Margaret's · St. Mark's · St. Martin's · St. Mary's · St. Mary's Whitechapel · St. Patrick's · St. Paul's (Hanover Co.) · St. Paul's (King George Co.) · St. Peter's · St. Stephen's (King and Queen Co.) · St. Stephen's (Northumberland Co.) · St. Thomas · Shelburne · Sittenburne · Smith's Hundred · South · Southampton · South Farnham · Southwark · Stafford · Stanley Hundred · Stratton Major · Suffolk · Tillotson · Trinity (Lancaster Co.) · Trinity (Louisa Co.) · Truro · Upper (Elizabeth City Co.) · Upper (Isle of Wight Co.) · Upper (Lancaster Co.) · Upper (Nansemond Co.) · Upper (Northampton Co.) · Upper (Stafford Co.) · Upper Suffolk · Varina · Wallingford · Ware · Warrosquyoake · Warwick · Washington (Westmoreland Co.) · Washington (Washington Co.) · Waters Creek · West · West and Shirley · Westbury · Westover · Weyanoke · Wicomico · Wilmington · York · Yorkhampton

|group8 = Major

|list8 =

Library of Virginia · Virginia Historical Society · Virginia Theological Seminary · Bristol Public Library · Earl Gregg Swem Library at the College of William and Mary · Handley Regional Library · Germanna Foundation · John D. Rockefeller Jr. Library at Colonial Williamsburg · Jones Memorial Library · Mary Ball Washington Museum and Library · Portsmouth Public Library · Roanoke County Public Library · University of Virginia Library · Library of Congress  · National Archives and Records Administration  · National Archives at College Park, Maryland  · National Archives at Philadelphia  · New York Public Library  · Santa Cruz Public Library Downtown


 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 12 April 2014, at 19:17.
  • This page has been accessed 2,598 times.