St. Georges Parish, Spotsylvania, VirginiaEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

United States  Gotoarrow.png  Virginia  Gotoarrow.png  St. George's Parish

Contents

History

St. George's Parish has served Essex and Spotsylvania counties.

Founded

Boundary

Resources

Cemetery

In 1892, the Ladies' Cemetery Guild of St. George's Church published a survey of the graves and a history of the cemetery. Their book is available online at FamilySearch Books Online

WPA made a survey of the graves at St George's Church in 1936. It is available at the Rappahannock Library in Fredericksburg.[2]

The noted genealogist George Harrison Sanford King transcribed the tombstones in 1940: FHL Film 850092 Item 1.

The USGenWeb Archives, available online, includes transcripts of many graves found there in a 1999/2000 survey.

Parish History

Meade's 1861 history of St. George's Parish is available online.[3]

  • Slaughter, Philip and R.A. Brock. History of St. George's Parish in the County of Spotsylvania, and Diocese of Virginia: With a Biography of the Author and a Continuation, Embracing the History of St. George's and Trinity Churches to the Present Time. Richmond, Va.: J.W. Randolph & English, 1890. Digital version at Google Books; 1998 reprint: FHL Collection.

Parish Records

Colonial parish registers do not survive.

Vestry Books

The original St. George's Parish Vestry Books (1727-1843) are kept at the Library of Virginia. Published abstracts:

  • "Vestry Book, Saint George's Parish, Spotsylvania County, 1726-1745," The Virginia Genealogist, Vol. 41, No. 1 (Jan.-Mar. 1997):63-72; Vol. 41, No. 2 (Apr.-Jun. 1997):141-148; Vol. 41, No. 3 (Jul.-Sep. 1997):194-204; Vol. 41, No. 4 (Oct.-Dec. 1997):264-274; Vol. 42, No. 1 (Jan.-Mar. 1998):18-28; Vol. 42, No. 2 (Apr.-Jun. 1998):102-110; Vol. 42, No. 3 (Jul.-Sep. 1998):171-182. Digital version at American Ancestors ($).

Websites

Wikipedia
Wikipedia has more about this subject: St. George's

References

  1. Freddie Spradlin, "Parishes of Virginia," VAGenWeb, accessed 29 January 2011; Hening's Statutes at Large; Emily J. Salmon and Edward D.C. Campbell Jr., The Hornbook of Virginia History (Richmond: Library of Virginia, 1994).
  2. Margaret C. Klein, Tombstone Inscriptions of Spotsylvania County, Virginia (Palm Coast, Fla.: M.C. Klein, 1983), 68.
  3. William Meade, Old Churches, Ministers and Families of Virginia, 2 vols. (Philadelphia: J.B. Lippincott and Co., 1861). Digital versions at Internet Archive: Vol. I and Vol. II.


 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 12 April 2014, at 19:17.
  • This page has been accessed 4,774 times.