St. Helena Parish, LouisianaEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

United States Gotoarrow.png Louisiana Gotoarrow.png St. Helena Parish

Guide to St. Helena Parish Louisiana genealogy. Birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.

Hand and keyboard.jpg Louisiana
Online Records


St. Helena Parish, Louisiana
Map
Map of Louisiana highlighting St. Helena Parish
Location in the state of Louisiana
Map of the U.S. highlighting Louisiana
Location of Louisiana in the U.S.
Facts
Founded October 27, 1810
County Seat Greensburg
Courthouse
LAStHelenacourthouse.jpg
Address 369 Sitman Street.
Greensburg, LA 70441
Adopt-a-wiki page
LaGenWeb logo.gif This page adopted by:
LAGenWeb Project
who welcome you to contribute.
Parish Coordinator
St. Helena Parish LAGenWeb
Adopt a page today
 

Contents

Parish Courthouse

St. Helena Parish Courthouse;
Court Square;
Greensburg, LA 70441
Phone: 225.222.4521

Parish Clerk has records from 1804

The small white building in front of the St. Helena Parish Courthouse was used as a Federal Land Office.  It was built in 1820..[1]

History

Parent Parish

1810--St. Helena Parish was created 27 October 1810 from Spanish West Florida.
Parish seat: Greensburg [1]

Boundary Changes

For animated maps illustrating Louisiana Parish boundary changes, "Rotating Formation Louisiana Parish Boundary Maps" (1805-1990) may be viewed for free at the MapofUS.org website.

Record Loss

For a list of record loss in Louisiana Parishes see: Louisiana Parishes with Burned Courthouses

Places / Localities

Populated Places

Neighboring Parishes or Counties

Resources

Lasthelena.png

Cemeteries

Black Creek A.M.E. Church, 217 Black Creek Church Lane in Greensburg (http://www.findagrave.com/cgi-bin/fg.cgi?page=cr&CRid=2214761&CScn=black+creek&CSst=20&)

Clinton-Pipkin Cemetery (http://www.findagrave.com/cgi-bin/fg.cgi?page=cr&CRid=2167300&CScnty=1154&CSsr=21&)

Darlington Church of God in Christ, 2295 Otis & Willie Matthews Rd. Greensburg,LA 70441 (http://www.findagrave.com/cgi-bin/fg.cgi?page=cr&CRid=2398647)

Lazard Temple Church of God in Christ 15750 Louisiana 43,Greensburg,LA 70441 (http://www.findagrave.com/cgi-bin/fg.cgi?page=cr&CRid=2400178&CScnty=1154&CSsr=41&)

Mount Everett A.M.E. Church 4289 Louisiana 37,Greensburg,LA 70441 (http://www.findagrave.com/cgi-bin/fg.cgi?page=cr&CRid=2219256&CScnty=1154&CSsr=61&)

Turner Chapel A.M.E. Church Cemetery aka Crossroads, the church was organized in 1868 rebuilt in 1959 in Greensburg (http://www.findagrave.com/cgi-bin/fg.cgi?page=cr&CRid=1990795&CScn=turner+chapel&CScntry=4&CSst=20&)

Venable Chapel Cemetery, 185 Venable Chapel Rd.,Greensburg, LA 70441 (http://www.findagrave.com/cgi-bin/fg.cgi?page=cr&CRid=1987986&CScn=venable&CScntry=4&CSst=20&)





Census

Census Pop.
19008,479
19109,1728.2%
19208,427−8.1%
19308,4920.8%
19409,54212.4%
19509,013−5.5%
19609,1621.7%
19709,9378.5%
19809,827−1.1%
19909,8740.5%
200010,5256.6%
Est. 200610,759[2]2.2%
St. Helena Parish Census Data[3]


Church

Church records and the information they provide vary significantly depending on the denomination and the record keeper. They may contain information about members of the congregation, such as age, date of baptism, christening, or birth; marriage information and maiden names; and death date. For general information about Louisiana denominations, view the Louisiana Church Records wiki page.

Court

Land

Land and property records can place an ancestor in a particular location, provide economic information, and reveal family relationships. Land records include: deeds, abstracts and indexes, mortgages, leases, grants and land patents.

See Louisiana Land and Property for additional information about early Louisiana land ownership. After land was transferred to private ownership, subsequent transactions were usually recorded at the county courthouse where records are also currently housed.

Local Histories

Local histories are available for St. Helena Parish, Louisiana. County histories may include biographies, church, school and government history, and military information. For more information about local histories see the wiki page section Louisiana Local Histories.

Maps

Military

Inscription from War Memorial in front of St. Helena Parish Courthouse in Greensburg, LA:
Dedicated To The Memory Of Those Who Died In The Defense Of Our Country And All Who Served In The Cause Of Freedom
Greater Greensburg Veterans War Memorial
Veterans

WORLD WAR I
Otto Birch,Offie Courtney,Willie Mackie,Ewell C. Murray,Joseph Angele,Willie M. Berry,Archie Richardson
Guss Higginbotham,Herbert Strickland


WORLD WAR II
Edgar W. Allen,Adrian P. Carruth,Richard E. Chapman,Norwood Durnin,Earl Easley,O.C. Felker      William A. LeBlanc,Sr.,Albert J. Pittman,William T. Phillips, Jr.,Delos H. Williams,Wilbur G. Miller
Artames W. Turner,Charles M. Turner,Homer P. Garrison,Ellis Leonard,Milton Brecheen,Jessie William

KOREA

John W. Currie,Hoover L. Gordon,Herman Hagan,J.R. Moody


VIETNAM
Emmett J. Bryant,Melvin G. Bryant,Gilton W. Johnson,Donald L. Martin,James East,Robert C. Strickland
James Jennings, Jr.,Frank Bean,John Gerard,Roosevelt Brumfield


ARMY NAVY MARINE AIR FORCE
ERECTED BY St. Helena Members Post 264

Newspapers

Additional newspapers abstracts can sometimes be found using search phrases such as St. Helena Parish, Louisiana newspapers in online catalogs like:

Probate

Probate records before 1845 were kept in probate courts. Since 1845, they have been kept by the St. Helena Parish, Louisiana clerk of the district court. Many of the probate records are included in the notarial records with the deeds and mortgages. In some parishes they are known as “succession” records.

See the Wiki page Louisiana Probate Records for more information about probate records in Louisiana.

Content: Probate records may give the decedent's date of death, names of his or her spouse, children, parents, siblings, in-laws, neighbors, associates, relatives, and their place of residence.

Record types: Wills, estates, guardianships, naturalizations, and adoptions.

Taxation

Louisiana tax records can be used in place of missing censuses and provide lists of residents during years between censuses. There may be gaps of several years. For more information, see Louisiana Taxation.

Vital Records

Vital Records consist of births, adoptions, marriages, divorces, and deaths recorded on registers, certificates, and documents.

Louisiana statewide registration of birth and death records began in 1911. Births and deaths are kept by the Louisiana Vital Records Registry. Marriages were recorded by each parish, and the records are at the parish clerk of court office. See also How to order Louisiana Vital Records or order electronically online.

See Louisiana Vital Records for more information on getting Louisiana records.

Louisiana State Archives-Death records for the State of Louisiana that are over 50 years old are available (1911 +), also birth records for Orleans parish that are over 100 years old and marriage records for Orleans parish that are over 50 years old (1870 +) When doing a search be sure to use the advanced search option, you can search for a partial name, this help when there might be a variation of a name. (http://www.sos.louisiana.gov/tabid/640/Default.aspx)

Family Search-Louisiana Death Records,1850-1875,1894-1954 (https://www.familysearch.org/search/collection/show#uri=http://hr-search-api:8080/searchapi/search/collection/1609793)

St. Helena Parish usgenweb archives - Marriage Record Index, Obituaries, Death Records.  Be sure to look at the Photo collection because there are images of documents there. (http://www.usgwarchives.net/la/sthelena.htm)

Societies and Libraries

See also a List of Louisiana Archives, Libraries, Publications, Historical & Genealogical Societies

Web Sites

References

  1. 1.0 1.1 The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America,10th ed., St Helena Parish, Louisiana p 292 (Draper, UT:Everton Publishers, 2002).
  2. United States Census Bureau. "St. Helena Parish Quickfacts". http://quickfacts.census.gov/qfd/states/22/22091.html. Retrieved 2008-02-02. 
  3. United States Census Bureau. "Louisiana Population of Counties by Decennial Census: 1900 to 1990". http://www.census.gov/population/cencounts/la190090.txt. Retrieved 2008-02-02. 


 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 19 July 2014, at 04:18.
  • This page has been accessed 6,431 times.