St. Louis City, MissouriEdit This Page
From FamilySearch Wiki
Guide to St. Louis City Missouri genealogy. Birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.
St. Louis City, Missouri Record Dates
Independent City Courthouse
St. Louis City predates the state of Missouri which was admitted to the union in 1821. St. Louis was the capital of the St. Louis district of the Louisiana Territory from 1805-1812 and the capital of St. Louis County of the Missouri Territory from 1812 to 1821.
On August 22, 1876 St. Louis City voted to separate from St. Louis County and became an independent city in early 1877. Since St. Louis had been the county seat up until that point, it maintains records prior to separation for both the county and city. Records for the County starting in 1877 are maintained by St. Louis County.
- All records for St. Louis City (1805-present) are maintained by the City of St. Louis.
- All records for St. Louis County (1805-1876) are also maintained by the city.
For a more detailed explanation see St. Louis City and County Split.
Many of these records are available at both the St. Louis Public Library (City) and the St. Louis County Library.
- Americanization of the Croats in Saint Louis, Missouri, during the past thirty years at Ancestry.com ($)
For animated maps illustrating Missouri county boundary changes, "Rotating Formation Missouri County Boundary Maps" (1804-1889) may be viewed for free at the MapofUS.org website.
For a list of record loss in Missouri counties see: Missouri Counties with Burned Courthouses
- The Ramsay Place Names File (State Historical Society of Missouri) has information on historical place names in the city of St. Louis. Places from St. Louis City and County are listed together under St. Louis County.
Archives and Libraries
- St. Louis Public Library (St. Louis City) owns a large collection of books, periodicals, maps, and other miscellaneous materials that deal with the history of St. Louis City, and Library staff have indexed many previously unindexed books and materials on that topic. They also own a large local history card file, and a large vertical file consisting of articles clipped from local newspapers and other local publications.
St. Louis Public Library Local History Indexes and Bibliographies
- St. Louis County Library has a large collection of genealogical records for St. Louis City and St. Louis County in its Special Collections Department located at its main headquarters. The collection includes holdings from the St. Louis Genealogical Society as well as parish records from the Archdiocese of St. Louis. In addition to its holdings, the staff of the Special Collections Department has created indexes for many records including St. Louis newspapers as well as birth, naturalization, probate, and church records.
- Missouri History Museum Library and Research Center has a collection of books, manuscripts, periodicals, newspapers, maps, and photographs including: Biographies, yearbooks, business and trade catalogs and military records. Their website has a searchable genealogy index that covers many of these collections.
- Search the Archdiocese of St. Louis Cemetery records for burials in seventeen Catholic cemeteries from the St. Louis area.
- View an interactive map of Bellefontaine Cemetery, established in 1849. Search for your ancestors to see the locations of burial and the graves of others buried near them.
- Resurrection Cemetery BillionGraves
- See St. Louis County for additional St. Louis area cemetery resources.
- Web: St. Louis, Missouri, Burial Index, Archdiocese of St. Louis, 1700-2010 at Ancestry.com ($)
Church History and Records
Church records and the information they provide vary significantly depending on the denomination and the record keeper. They may contain information about members of the congregation, such as age, date of baptism, christening, or birth; marriage information and maiden names; and death date. For general information about Missouri denominations, view the Missouri Church Records wiki page.
- The St. Louis County Library has a page that lists its available Catholic resources including a list of Catholic priests * that served in St. Louis from 1841-1900.
- St. Louis County Library's Catholic records collection is large. A list of their holdings from the Archdiocese of St. Louis is not available online. They have published a 348 page guide Guide To St. Louis Catholic Archdiocesan Parish Records detailing their holdings.
- The St. Louis County Library has a page that lists its available Lutheran resources including an index to some Immanuel Lutheran Church and St. Paul's Lutheran Church records.
Evangelical and United Church of Christ
- The St. Louis County Library has a page that lists its available Evangelical resources including a list of Evangelical priests * that served from 1834-2005.
* With the priests name from a civil marriage record, this list can be used to locate a church marriage record which often contains more family information.
- Green's 1845 St. Louis Directory is available on Google Books.
- Kennedy's 1857 St. Louis City Directory is available on Google Books.
- Kennedy’s 1860 St. Louis City Directory (transcribed) is available online -- Courtesy of Bob Doerr.
- Fold3.com ($) has St. Louis City Directories 1863-1923 (only 3 yrs. missing) available online. Fold3 is free at some libraries including St. Louis County Library.
- St. Louis County Library has St. Louis City Directories 1857-1942 available in their Special Collections Department. They also have other years available spanning 1821-1980.
- Metropolitan St. Louis Negro Directory: a classified publication of biographies: business, professional, religious, social, franternal, welfare, industrial and loabor organizattion. -1st ed. - St. Louis:Booker T. Washington Trading Stamp Association, c 1943. F474.S2 M4
- St. Louis, Missouri Directories, 1889-1890 at Ancestry.com ($)
In Missouri, probate records have usually been recorded by the clerks of the probate courts, but in some counties the common pleas or circuit courts handled this function. They are frequently indexed.
- St. Louis County Library has an index to St. Louis City Will Books (1877-1904).
- Missouri State Archives - Online access to St. Louis Probate records (original documents)
- St. Louis County Library has created an Index to Naturalizations. Site provides information on the various naturalization records from the U.S. Circuit Court and U.S. District Court.
- Missouri Historical Society of Saint Louis at Ancestry.com ($)
Land and Deed Records
Land and property records can place an ancestor in a particular location, provide economic information, and reveal family relationships. Land records include: deeds, abstracts and indexes, mortgages, leases, grants and land patents.
See Missouri Land and Property for information about records of land transfers from the government to private ownership. After that transfer, transactions were usually recorded and are currently housed at the county courthouse.
Military History and Records
- Fold3.com ($) has Civil War and other military records available online. Some libraries including the St. Louis County Library provide free access to this database.
Civil War records for both the city and county of St. Louis are maintained by the city.
Additional newspapers abstracts can sometimes be found using search phrases such as St. Louis City, Missouri newspapers in online catalogs like:
- The St. Louis Post-Dispatch (1874 to date) is available at the St. Louis County Library. The St. Louis City Public Library has created an obituary index for various years.
- The St. Louis Post-Dispatch (1874-1922) is available online for St. Louis County Library cardholders.
- The Westliche Post (1857-1938), a German language newspaper, is available at the St. Louis County Library in its Special Collections Department. They have created an obituary index for the years 1879-1890.
Taxes were levied on free white males over 21 and slaves aged 21 to 60. These persons are referred to as "polls." Tax listings, or digests, of a county generally list the taxable landowners and other polls and the amount of tax. The records for each county are divided by militia district. For more information see the wiki page Missouri Taxation.
Vital Records (Civil)
Vital Records consist of births, adoptions, marriages, divorces, and deaths. For additional guidance on researching and using vital records, see United States Vital Records or How to order Missouri Vital Records.
St. Louis and Kansas City recorded births and deaths starting as early as 1850 for deaths and 1870 for births. The Missouri Department of Health began keeping birth and death records in 1909. County records vary by year and the county. A copy or an extract of most original records can be purchased from the Missouri Vital Records State Department of Health, the County Clerk's office or order electronically online.
See St. Louis City, Missouri Vital Records for information on St. Louis City vital records and their indexes.
- 1827 - 1935 Missouri, Births and Christenings, 1827-1935 at FamilySearch.org — index
- 1851 - 1910 Missouri Birth Records, 1851-1910 at Ancestry.com — index/images $
- Web: Missouri, St. Louis Public Library Obituary Index, 1880-2011 at Ancestry.com ($)
- Web: St. Louis, Missouri, St. Louis Post-Dispatch Obituary Index, 1880-2009 at Ancestry.com ($)
- 1867 - 1976 Missouri, Deaths and Burials, 1867-1976 at FamilySearch.org — index
- 1834 - 1910 Missouri, Death Records, 1834-1910 at Ancestry.com — index/images $
- 1802 - 1969 Missouri, County Marriage, Naturalization, and Court Records, 1802-1969 at FamilySearch.org — index/images
- 1750 - 1920 Missouri, Marriages, 1750-1920 at FamilySearch.org — index
- 1805 - 2002 Missouri, Marriage Records, 1805-2002 at [http://home.ancestry.com/
- 1850 Missouri Marriages to 1850 at Ancestry.com — index $
- St. Louis, Missouri Marriages, 1804-76 at Ancestry.com ($)
Genealogy Societies, Archives and Libraries
- List of Missouri Archives, Libraries, Publications, Historical & Genealogical Societies
- St. Louis Genealogical Society.
Family History Centers
Family History Centers provide one-on-one assistance and free access to premium genealogical websites. In addition, many centers have free how-to genealogy classes. See Family History Centers for more information. Search the online FHC directory for a nearby family history center.
- St. Louis CityCounty, MO History, Records, Facts and Genealogy
- Missouri Genealogy Network Community on Google+
- Missouri Genealogy Network Group on Facebook
- Missouri USGenWeb project, St Louis. May have maps, name indexes, history or other information for this county.
- FamilySearch Catalog
- Online St. Louis Death Records and Indexes
- St. Louis Genealogy Resources
- Genealogy in St. Louis
- St Louis Genealogy (Missouri Genealogy)
- ↑ Alice Eichholz, Ancestry’s Red Book: American State, County and Town Sources, Revised ed. (Salt Lake City: Ancestry, 1992), 422-438. At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27rb 1992
|This Missouri-related article is a stub. You can help by expanding it.
While this page is under construction, may we suggest Cyndi's List.
- This page was last modified on 12 August 2015, at 19:36.
- This page has been accessed 12,138 times.
Future Changes to the Wiki
Changes are coming to the FamilySearch Research Wiki in the near future. Find out more on the Wiki Community News page.Community News