St. Lukes Parish, South CarolinaEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

United States Gotoarrow.png South Carolina Gotoarrow.png St. Luke's Parish

Contents

History

Many Episcopalian St. Luke's parishioners continued to attend St. Helena's, and their christenings, marriages, and deaths were registered there until 1786 when their first St. Luke's Parish church was built in Pritchardville.[1] That church burned down before 1824. In 1824 a replacement second parish church was constructed in Bluffton, half a mile to the east on part of the Bull Hill Plantation. Episcopal services were discontinued there after 1856, and in 1875 the building was sold to the Methodists. The second parish building is also known as the Bull Hill Church or St. Luke's Methodist Church.[2]

The Episcopalian Zion Chapel of Ease, Hilton Head Island, belonged to St. Luke's Parish.[3] The Church of the Holy Trinity, which is now located in Jasper County, also served as a chapel of ease for St. Luke's parishioners.[4]

Before the American Revolution, the state church of South Carolina was the Church of England (the Anglican Church, or Protestant Episcopal Church). Besides keeping parish registers, the church kept many records of a civil nature in their vestry books. The Vestry was as much a political body as a religious one. The wardens and commissioners were responsible for the roads, education, the poor and orphans, voting and collecting taxes in addition to their church duties.[5]

Founded

St. Luke's Parish (Pritchardville, Beaufort, SC) was created in 1767 from the northwest side of St. Helena's Parish in the central part of Granville (1708-1768) County.[6][7][8]

Boundary

Borders: the Atlantic Ocean, St. Helena's, Prince William, St. Peter's, and St. Matthew's since 1768 parishes.[7] For a map, see: Early parishes in South Carolina. An overlay of districts is available at Carolana.com.

Areas Served: St. Luke's Parish served:

Modern equivalents: The original parish covered parts of what are present-day Beaufort, Beaufort, Jasper, and small parts of Allendale counties.[6][12]

Resources

Cemetery

Parish History

For an early history of the parish, see Chapter 25, St. Luke's Parish, pages 387-388, in:

  • Dalcho, Frederick. An Historical Account of the Protestant Episcopal Church in South Carolina from the First Settlement of the Province, to the War of the Revolution; with Notices of the Present State of the Church in Each Parish and Some Account of the Early Civil History of Carolina, Never Before Published. Charleston: E. Thayer, 1820. FHL Film 22657; digital versions at Google Books; Internet Archive.

Parish Records

Websites

References

  1. "St. Luke's Parish" in Heritage Library Foundation at http://www.heritagelib.org/articles/st-luke-s-parish (accessed 3 June 2011).
  2. rosiewolf, "St. Luke's Methodist Church, Bluffton, SC" in Buzznet at http://rosiewolf-bluff.buzznet.com/user/photos/st-lukes-methodist-church-bluffton/?id=1271267#id=1271256 (accessed 3 June 2011).
  3. Zion Chapel of Ease and Cemetery, The Historical Marker Database, accessed 17 February 2011.
  4. Church of the Holy Trinity Marker, The Historical Marker Database, 17 February 2011.
  5. "The Formation of Counties in South Carolina," at the South Carolina Department of Archives and History website, accessed 21 January 2011.
  6. 6.0 6.1 6.2 "South Carolina Counties and Parishes - 1760" [map] in Carolana at http://www.carolana.com/SC/Royal_Colony/sc_royal_colony_counties_parishes_1760.html (accessed 29 May 2011).
  7. 7.0 7.1 7.2 "South Carolina Districts and Parishes - 1770" [map] in Carolana at http://www.carolana.com/SC/Royal_Colony/sc_royal_colony_districts_parishes_1770.html (accessed 3 June 2011).
  8. Frederick Dalcho, An Historical Account of the Protestant Episcopal Church in South Carolina from the First Settlement of the Province, to the War of the Revolution: with Notices of the Present State of the Church in Each Parish and Some Account of the Early Civil History of Carolina, Never Before Published (Charleston: E. Thayer, 1820), 360. FHL Film 22657; digital versions at Google Books; Internet Archive..
  9. "South Carolina Districts and County - 1785" [map] in Carolana at http://www.carolana.com/SC/Early_Statehood/sc_statehood_1800_districts_counties_1785.html (accessed 3 June 2011).
  10. "South Carolina Districts - 1800" [map] in Carolana at http://www.carolana.com/SC/Early_Statehood/sc_statehood_1800_districts_counties_1800.html (accessed 3 June 2011).
  11. 11.0 11.1 "South Carolina Counties - 1880" [map] in Carolana at http://www.carolana.com/SC/1800s/sc_1800s_counties_1880.html (accessed 3 June 2011).
  12. 12.0 12.1 12.2 "South Carolina Counties - 1920" [map] in Carolana at http://www.carolana.com/SC/1900s/sc_1900s_counties_1920.html (accessed 3 June 2011).

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 3 June 2011, at 19:46.
  • This page has been accessed 2,605 times.