St. Marks Parish, VirginiaEdit This Page
From FamilySearch Wiki
Contents |
History
St. Mark's Parish has served Spotsylvania, Orange, and Culpeper counties. Little Fork Church, which had originally been a chapel of ease, became the parish church.[1]
Founded
- 1730[2]
Boundary
Resources
Cemetery
Many of the graves at Little Fork Church are described at Find A Grave. Includes transcripts and select photographs.
Parish History
- Boyle, Andrew J. The Church in the Fork, a History of Historic Little Fork Church. Culpeper, Va.: Little Fork Preservation Committee, 1983. FHL Book 975.5392 K2b
- Slaughter, Philip. A History of St. Mark's Parish, Culpeper County, Virginia: With Notes of Old Churches and Old Families, and Illustrations of the Manners and Customs of the Olden Time. Baltimore, Md.: Innes & Co., Printers, 1877. Original edition: FHL Collection; digital versions at Ancestry ($) and FamilySearch Books Online
- Thomas, Arthur Dicken and Angus McDonald Green. Early Churches of Culpeper County, Virginia: Colonial and Ante-bellum Congregations. Culpeper, Va.: Culpeper Historical Society, 1987. FHL Book 975.5392 K2e
Parish Records
Parish Registers
The original parish registers (christenings and marriages 1794-1797) are kept at the Library of Virginia. Copies: FHL Film 33856 Item 1. The christenings have been abstracted:
- Somerville, Mary Lee. "Saint Mark's Parish Register Baptisms, 1794-1796," The Virginia Genealogist, Vol. 3, No. 3 (Jul.-Sep. 1959):99-102. Digital version at American Ancestors ($). FHL Book 975.5 B2vg v. 3 (1959).
Vestry Books
The original St. Mark's Parish Vestry Books (1730-1843) are kept at the Library of Virginia. Copies of vestry book (1730-1753) and treasurer's levies (1731-1785): FHL Film 33856 Item 2. Abstracts:
- Davis, Rosalie Edith Rogers. Saint Mark Parish Vestry Book & Levies, 1730-1785: Spotsylvania, Orange and Culpeper Counties, Virginia. Manchester, Mo.: Heritage Trails, 1983. FHL Book 975.5392 K2d Contains records about the organization of the parish, elections of church officers, hiring of ministers, payments of fees and wages, upkeep of the "gleeb" house and church, care of the poor and orphans, and the raising of levies from the parish tithables.
Websites
- Little Fork Church (official site). History, photographs.
- Little Fork Church, The Historical Marker Database
References
- ↑ Wikipedia Contributors, "Little Fork Church," Wikipedia, accessed 28 February 2011.
- ↑ Freddie Spradlin, "Parishes of Virginia," VAGenWeb, accessed 29 January 2011; Hening's Statutes at Large; Emily J. Salmon and Edward D.C. Campbell Jr., The Hornbook of Virginia History (Richmond: Library of Virginia, 1994).
Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.
Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.
Did you find this article helpful?
You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).
- This page was last modified on 14 November 2012, at 20:21.
- This page has been accessed 1,813 times.
New to the Research Wiki?
In the FamilySearch Research Wiki, you can learn how to do genealogical research or share your knowledge with others.
Learn More
