St. Marys Whitechapel Parish, VirginiaEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

United States  Gotoarrow.png  Virginia  Gotoarrow.png  St. Mary's Whitechapel Parish
St. Marys Whitechapel, Lancaster, Va.

Contents

History

St. Mary's Whitechapel Parish has served Lancaster County, Virginia for three centuries. In 1752, the parish was officially united with Christ Church Parish, but the church building is still in use today.

Some authorities split the word "Whitechapel" into two words: "White Chapel."

Founded

Boundary

Resources

Cemetery

The cemetery is in use.[2]

A survey of the graves at Christ Church was published in 2002.[2] FHL Book 975.522 V3h (pages 137-148).

Parish History

Meade's 1861 history of St. Mary's Whitechapel Parish is available online.[3]

  • Woolverton, John F. "Address Commemorating The 300th Anniversary of St. Mary's White Chapel, Lancaster County, Virginia," Northern Neck of Virginia Historical Magazine, Vol. 19 (1969). Available at Virginia Historical Society.
  • Nicholson, Charles A. "St. Mary's White Chapel, Lancaster County, Virginia," Genealogical Society of Tidewater Virginia. Its Bulletina, Vol. 9 (1978):181-189. Available at Virginia Historical Society.

Elizabeth Lewis Neale's history of St. Mary's White Chapel, Lancaster County, Virginia (1907) has been digitized by Google Books.[4]

Parish Registers

Colonial parish registers do not survive.

Vestry Books

The original vestry books are kept at the Library of Virginia. Copies: FHL Film 30820

  • Tupper, Margaret H. Vestry Book, 1739-1786: Christ Church Parish, Lancaster County, Virginia. Online bookstore. Available at Virginia Historical Society. Includes St. Mary's White Chapel Parish records.

Websites

References

  1. Freddie Spradlin, "Parishes of Virginia," VAGenWeb, accessed 29 January 2011; Hening's Statutes at Large; Emily J. Salmon and Edward D.C. Campbell Jr., The Hornbook of Virginia History (Richmond: Library of Virginia, 1994).
  2. 2.0 2.1 Margaret Lester Hill and Clyde H. Ratcliffe, In Remembrance: Gravestone Inscriptions and Burials of Lancaster County, Virginia (White Stone, Va.: M.L. Hill and C.H. Ratcliffe, 2002).
  3. William Meade, Old Churches, Ministers and Families of Virginia, 2 vols. (Philadelphia: J.B. Lippincott and Co., 1861). Digital versions at Internet Archive: Vol. I and Vol. II.
  4. Colonial Churches: A Series of Sketches of Churches in the Original Colony of Virginia (Richmond, Va.: Southern Churchman Co., 1907), 195-199.


 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 12 April 2014, at 19:17.
  • This page has been accessed 3,561 times.