St. Patricks Parish, VirginiaEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

United States  Gotoarrow.png  Virginia  Gotoarrow.png  St. Patrick's Parish

Contents

History

St. Patrick's Parish has served Prince Edward County, Virginia. The Chapel or Watkin's Church, French's Church, and Sandy River Church all fell within its bounds.[1]

Founded

Resources

Parish History

Meade's 1861 history of St. Patrick's Parish is available online.[1]

  • Morton, Mrs. W.S. "The Dwelling House on the Glebe Land in the Parish of Saint Patrick in Prince Edward County," The William and Mary Quarterly, Second Series, Vol. 17, No. 3 (Jul., 1937), pp. 409-410. FHL Book 973 H25w; digital version at JSTOR ($).

Parish Records

Colonial parish registers do not survive.

Lists of names (1897 and 1902) have been abstracted: FHL Film 850108 Item 4.

Vestry Books

The original St. Patrick's Vestry Book and Land Processioning (1755-1774) is kept at the Library of Virginia. It has been microfilmed: FHL Film 33857. A partial index is available: FHL Book 975.5632 K22p.

References

  1. 1.0 1.1 William Meade, Old Churches, Ministers and Families of Virginia, 2 vols. (Philadelphia: J.B. Lippincott and Co., 1861). Digital versions at Internet Archive: Vol. I and Vol. II.
  2. Freddie Spradlin, "Parishes of Virginia," VAGenWeb, accessed 29 January 2011; Hening's Statutes at Large; Emily J. Salmon and Edward D.C. Campbell Jr., The Hornbook of Virginia History (Richmond: Library of Virginia, 1994).


 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 12 April 2014, at 19:17.
  • This page has been accessed 2,484 times.