St. Pauls Parish, Hanover, VirginiaEdit This Page
From FamilySearch Wiki
United States
Virginia
St. Paul's Parish
Contents |
History
St. Paul's Parish has served New Kent and Hanover counties. "The Old Church," also called Immanuel Church, belonged to this parish.[1] Slash Church (erected 1729-1732), served as the parish's Upper Church.[2]
Founded
- 1704[3]
Boundary
"An Act for dividing the Parish of Saint Paul, in Hanover County" (1726) culled from Colonial Office at the National Archives in London, is published in:
- Chamberlayne, Churchill G. "Seven Parish Acts Heretofore Unpublished," The William and Mary Quarterly, Vol. 18, No. 1 (Jan. 1938):106-118. FHL Book 973 H25w; digital version at JSTOR ($).
Resources
Cemetery
Some of the graves at Slash Church Cemetery are described at Virginia Gravestones.org. Includes transcripts and photographs. The site also includes entries for Immanuel Episcopal Church Cemetery.
Parish History
Parish Records
Colonial parish registers have been lost.
Vestry Books
- Chamberlayne, C.G. The Vestry Book of St. Paul's Parish, Hanover County, Virginia, 1706-1786. Richmond: The Library Board, 1940. Original edition: FHL US/CAN Book 975.5462 K2c; digital versions at: Ancestry ($), FamilySearch Books Online
Taxation
- Cocke, William Ronald. Hanover County Taxpayers, Saint Paul's Parish, 1782-1815. Columbia, Va.: W.R. Cocke, 1956. Compiled from personal property tax lists.
Websites
- Immanuel Episcopal Church, The Diocese of Virginia (official site)
- Slash Church 1729 History
- "The Old Church," The Historical Marker Database
- Slash Church, The Historical Marker Database
References
- ↑ "A Detailed History of Immanuel," Immanuel Episcopal Church, The Diocese of Virginia, accessed 28 February 2011.
- ↑ Slash Church, The Historical Marker Database
- ↑ Freddie Spradlin, "Parishes of Virginia," VAGenWeb, accessed 29 January 2011; Hening's Statutes at Large; Emily J. Salmon and Edward D.C. Campbell Jr., The Hornbook of Virginia History (Richmond: Library of Virginia, 1994).
Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.
Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.
Did you find this article helpful?
You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).
- This page was last modified on 14 November 2012, at 20:39.
- This page has been accessed 1,665 times.
New to the Research Wiki?
In the FamilySearch Research Wiki, you can learn how to do genealogical research or share your knowledge with others.
Learn More