St. Peter's Civil Parish, County LouthEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

Ireland Gotoarrow.png County Louth Gotoarrow.png St. Peter's Civil Parish

The following information is a starting point for records about the civil parish of St. Peter's. The information is based on locations and records before 1922.

Contents

Historical Overview

History

Add a brief statement about historical background, including a Web site link if available.

Localities

List the names of townlands in this civil parish List the names of the surrounding parishes List the names and give a description of a district, poor law union, etc.

Maps and gazetteers

Add a Web site link for a map or gazetteer site, and/or add a printed source. Read more about maps and gazetteers.

Records

Cemeteries

Add references to indexes to gravestones or monumental inscriptions.

Census

The purpose of a census was to gather information about people who lived in an area. While the government began census taking in 1821, only fragments exist before 1901. Censuses for 1901 and 1911 are available. Read more about the records in the Ireland Census article.

Add information here about census substitutes that you know about.

Church records

Read general information about church records.

Catholic

Name(s) of ecclesiastical parish, records, availability, archive, online indexes, notes.

St. Peter's chapel is in the town of Drogheda.

Family History Library
Baptisms 1744-1804, 1815-1880
Marriages 1815- Jan. 4,1866
Church of Ireland

St. Peter's Church of Ireland, Drogheda parish registers date back to 1653/4 for baptisms, marriages and burials. They are available on microfilm at the Public Record Office of Northern Ireland, Belfast (Mic.1/207) for Baptisms, 1654-1886; marriages, 1654-1956; and burials 1653-1864.  The original registers are deposited at the Representative Church Body Library, Dublin.

St. Peter's Church of Ireland, Drogheda parish registers for the time period 1702-1899 have been transcribed and are available for free online from the Representative Church Body Library, Dublin. 

Presbyterian

A Presbyterian Congregation was located in Drogheda as early as 1652, although there are no known registers dating to that early period. The known registers of baptisms begin in 1822 and the register of marriages begins in 1823. The congregation was moved under the jurisdiction of the Presbytery of Dublin in 1745.
 

Methodist

The Methodist Congregation in Drogheda has a register of baptisms. A copy of the register of baptisms for the years 1829-1850 is held on microfilm by the Public Record Office of Northern Ireland, Belfast on microfilm (Mic.429/1/1).
 

Society of Friends 

Name(s) of ecclesiastical parish, records, availability, archive, online indexes, notes.

Others

Name(s) of ecclesiastical parish, records, availability, archive, online indexes, notes.

 Civil Registration 

Government registration of births and deaths began in 1864. Registration of Protestant marriages began in 1845, with all marriages being registered by 1864. Go to the Ireland Civil Registration article to read more about these records.


Directories 

1820   Pigot's Directory of Drogheda, Dundalk

1824   Pigot's Directory of Ardee, Carlingford, Castlebellingham, Drogheda, Dundalk.

1830   McCabe's Directory of Drogheda.

1846   Slater's Directory of Ardee and Lough, Carlingford, Castlebellingham and Dunleer, Drogheda, Dundalk.

1856   Slater's Directory of Ardee and Lough, Carlingford, Castlebellingham and Dunleer, Drogheda, Dundalk.

1870   Slater's Directory of Ardee, Carlingford, Castlebellingham, Drogheda, Dundalk.

1881   Slater's Directory of Ardee and Louth, Carlingford, Castlebellingham and Dunleer, Drogheda, Dundalk.

Land records

The Registry of Deeds started in 1708. Land transactions were recorded, including immovable property passed on in a will and property given to a daughter at her marriage. Read more about these records in the Ireland Land and Property article.

Probate records

Probate dealt with the property of a deceased person. Read more about these records in the Ireland Probate Records article.

St. Peter's Drogheda is in the Consistory Court of Armagh together with the District of Drogheda. The indexes to Armagh are available for the years 1666-1837 for surnames (A-L) and 1677-1858 for surnames (M-Y). The indexes for the District of Drogeda are available for the years 1691-1846.

School records

Read more about these records in the Ireland Schools article. Add records for this parish.

Tax records

The valuation of property for tax purposes was started in the 1840s by Richard Griffith. A tax paid to the church, call Tithe Applotments, began in the 1820s. Read about these records in the Ireland Taxation and Ireland Land and Property articles. Add records for this parish that you know about.

Web Sites

Add a site for this civil parish.

Further Reading

Add sources here.


 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 6 March 2014, at 19:48.
  • This page has been accessed 559 times.