St. Quivox, Ayr, ScotlandEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

(Redirected from St. Quivox Church Record)

Parish #612

This is a guide to the history and major genealogical records of Scotland as they pertain to the parish of St. Quivox. To learn more about how to use these records to search for your ancestors, go to the Scotland: Research Strategies.

 

Contents

History

     The name of the parish is sometimes written as St. Evox. Ayr is the nearest town.  The major land owners were: Mr. Oswald of Auchencruive; Mr. Forbes of Callendar; Messrs Hunters and Company, Bankers, ayr; and Mr Campbell of Craigie.   The land was primarily used for, coal, cattle, oats, turnips, potatoes, wheat, barley, and dairy cows.  The population in 1755 was 499.  The population in 1837 was 5348.  The parochial records began in1780 and have been kept regularly since that time.

The religious attendance of the parishioners was:

Established Church -------------------------724 families
Roman Catholic ------------------------------125
Relief ---------------------------------------------112
United Secessions ---------------------------71
Antiburghers ------------------------------------40
Episcopalian ------------------------------------20
Reformed Presbytery ------------------------25
Methodists --------------------------------------18
Independents ------------------------------------6
Moravians -----------------------------------------3
Universalists -------------------------------------2

This account was written in 1837.

source: New Statistical Account of Scotland (FHL book 941 B4sa, series 2 vol.5)


The New Statistical Account of Scotland (pub. 1834-45) offers uniquely rich and detailed parish reports for the whole of Scotland, covering a vast range of topics including history, agriculture, education, trades, religion and social customs. The reports, written by the parish ministers, are available online at http://edina.ac.uk/stat-acc-scot/.  Click on ‘Browse scanned pages’ then search the parish reports for St. Quivox. Also available at the Family History Library.

Census Records

A census is a count and description of the population, taken by the government, arranged by locality and by household. Read more about Scotland Census Records.

Here is a list of the Family History Library microfilm numbers for the census records of St. Quivox as well as the library numbers for any surname indexes available:

Years FHL Film Number Surname Index        
1841 1042738 CD-ROM no.2524
1851 1042410
1861 103807
1871 103966
1881 203608 6086514 ( 10 fiche)
1891 220226


The 1901 census of Scotland is indexed on www.scotlandspeople.gov.uk.  To use it, you must register and pay a small access fee. All available censuses, 1841-1901, are indexed on this website. It may be easier for you to pay to use the website rather than access indexes through the library.

 

Church Records

The Established Church of Scotland was Presbyterian. Read more about Scotland Church Records.

Here are the pre-1855 records that exist for this parish.

Established Church—Old Parochial Registers

Years Covered FHL Film Number
Births: 1735-1740, 1767-1802 1041404 item 3
1780-1854 1041406
Marriages: 1735-1768, 1783-1819 1041404 item 3
1820-1854 1041405
1780-1854 1041406
Deaths: 1811-1854 1041406

Condition of Original Registers—

Index: For an index to these records, see the Scottish Church Records Index on computer at the Family History Library and family history centers.  Some records may be indexed in FamilySearch Records.
Births: There are no entries April 1740–June 1772, except five entries, 1767–1771. There is a fragment of a page with part of entries for 1743. There are four entries only from 1785–1793.
Marriages: There are proclamations only prior to 1768. There are no entries June 1768–October 1783 and after 1813 there are proclamations only.
Source: Key to the Parochial Registers of Scotland, by V. Ben Bloxham, pub. 1970 British book 941 K23b.


Established Church—Kirk Session Records

The Kirk session was the court of the parish. The session was made up of the minister and the land owners and business men of the parish, chosen to serve on the session. The Kirk session dealt with moral issues, minor criminal cases, matters of the poor and education, matters of discipline, and the general concerns of the parish. Kirk session records may also mention births, marriages, and deaths.

Here is a list of the surviving Kirk session records for this parish:

Years Covered FHL Film Number
Proclamations 1843–1860 0303666 item 5
Births 1843–1860 0303666 item 5
Other:
Minutes 1821–1950
Accounts 1737–1941
Population Report 1821
Note: Available at the National Archives of Scotland, Edinburgh, record CH2/319.


Nonconformist Church Records

A nonconformist church is any church that is not the Established church. Read more about nonconformity in Scotland in the article on the Scotland Church Records Union Lists.

No known nonconformist groups. See Ardrossan and Newton-Upon-Ayr Parishes.

Civil Registration Records

Government or civil registration of births, marriages, and deaths (also called statutory records) began on January 1, 1855 in Scotland. Each parish has a registrar's office and large cities have several. The records are created by the registrars and copies are sent to the General Register Office in Edinburgh. Annual indexes are then created for the records for the whole country.

See the article on Scotland Civil Registration for more information and to access the records.

Probate Records


St. Quivox was under the probate jurisdiction of the Commissary Court of Glasgow until 1823, and since then has been under the Sheriff's Court of [Court name]. Probate records for 1513- 1901 are indexed online at www.scotlandspeople.gov.uk.  You must register on the website but use of the index to probate records, called 'Wills & Testaments,' is free. You may then purchase a copy of the document or, if the document is before 1823, it will be on microfilm at the Family History Library. To find the microfilm numbers, search in the library  catalog  for the 'Place-names' of Ayr and the subject of 'Probate records.' Then click on the link to the records of the Commissariat of Glasgow.
The library also has some post-1823 probate records for Ayr. Look in the library catalog for the 'Place-names' of Ayr and the subjects of 'Probate Records' and 'Probate Records - Indexes.'

Read more about Scotland Probate Records.


Return to the Ayrshire Parishes List


 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 14 August 2014, at 23:54.
  • This page has been accessed 4,276 times.