St Agnes, CornwallEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England  Gotoarrow.png  CornwallGotoarrow.png  Cornwall Parishes

Guide to St Agnes, Cornwall ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

St Agnes, Cornwall
200px
Image:St Agnes Church Cornwall.jpg
Type Ecclesiastical Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Pyder
County Cornwall
Poor Law Union Truro PLU
Registration District Truro
Records begin
Parish registers: 1653
Bishop's Transcripts: 1596
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Pydar
Diocese Exeter
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court A Peculiar of the Court of the Dean and Chapter of Exeter
Location of Archive
Cornwall Record Office

Contents

Parish History

AGNES (ST.), a market-town and parish, in the union of Truro, W. division of the hundred of Pyder, and of Cornwall, 8½ miles (N. W. by W.) from Truro, and 263 (W.) from London. There are places of worship for Bryanites, Independents, and Wesleyans. [1]

St Agnes is an Ecclesiastical Parish and a market town in the county of Cornwall, created in 1846 from chapelry in Perranzabuloe, Cornwall Ancient Parish. Other places in the parish include: Mingoose, Porthtowan, Skinners Bottom, Trevellas, Trevellas Downs, Blackwater, Croscombe, Cross Combe, Goodnown, Goonbell, and Goonown.

The church of St Agnes was a chapel-of-ease only (St Agnes was made into a parish in 1846). The parish church is 15th century in date but has been much restored in recent times.

Mount Hawke, Cornwall was created from part of the parish in 1847.

Resources

Civil Registration

Births, marriages and deaths were kept by the government from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is Free BMD.

Church records

St Agnes, Cornwall parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

BOYD = Boyd's Marriage Index (findmypast) - (£)[2]
COPC = Cornwall Online Parish Clerks - free[3]
CPRI = Cornwall Parish Register Index - free[4]
FMP = findmypast - (£)[5][6]
FREG = FreeREG - free[7]
FS PRs = England, Cornwall and Devon Parish Registers, 1538-2010 (FamilySearch) - free[8]
PALL = Pallot's Marriage Index (Ancestry) - (£)[9]
St Agnes, Cornwall Parish Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
BOYD
1596-1812

COPC 1788-1821, 1868-1911
1596-1837
1690-1712, 1726-1732, 1741-1845, 1888-1938
CPRI 1791-1806


FMP 1597-1837 1596-1837
FREG 1653-1901
1596-1891
1653-1865
FS PRs 1653-1901 1653-1901 1653-1865
PALL
1790-1812

Images of parish registers are available online at FamilySearch Images refer to Cornwall Record Office reference: P2/1/1-27, 31-41, 47.

Cornwall Online Parish Clerks

An extremely useful resource is the Cornwall Online Parish Clerks page for the parish.

The history, registers and much more have been contributed by the Online Parish clerk for St Agnes.

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 241271.

Cornwall Online Census Project

Poor Law Unions

Truro Poor Law Union

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Cornwall Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

There are many maps and gazetteers showing English places. Valuable web sites are:

Websites

St Agnes in GENUKI

References

  1. Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England(1848), pp. 15-17. Date accessed: 20 March 2013.
  2. Percival Boyd, A List of Parishes in Boyd's Marriage Index (London: Society of Genealogists, 1987). Digital version at FamilySearch Books Online.
  3. 'Coverage by Parish,' Cornwall Online Parish Clerks, accessed 2 December 2013.
  4. 'Database Coverage,' Cornwall Parish Register Index, accessed 1 February 2013.
  5. 'Cornwall Baptisms', Find My Past, accessed 25 November 2013.
  6. 'Cornwall Marriages', Find My Past, accessed 25 November 2013.
  7. 'Cornwall Coverage', FreeREG, accessed 18 November 2013.
  8. 'England, Cornwall and Devon Parish Registers, 1538-2010', FamilySearch, accessed 26 November 2013.
  9. Pallot's Marriage and Birth Indexes, Guide to Parishes. Digital version at FamilySearch Books Online.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 15 November 2014, at 21:32.
  • This page has been accessed 2,094 times.