St Agness (Scillys), CornwallEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England  Gotoarrow.png  CornwallGotoarrow.png  Cornwall Parishes

Guide to St Agness (Scillys), Cornwall ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.


StAgnes Church Scilly.jpg

Contents

Parish History

AGNES (St.), One of the Scilly Islands, near the southern extremity of the group, separated on the NE from St. Mary's by St. Mary's Sound. It consists of two parts, St. Agnes-proper and the Gugh. [1]


General overview

St Agnes St Agnes (Scilly) is an Ancietn parish and the  church is dedicated to St Agnes of Rome. The first church was built in the sixteenth or seventeenth century, but it was destroyed in a gale. It was rebuilt in the eighteenth century, but was again destroyed.

The current building was built by the islanders in the nineteenth century using the proceeds of the sale of a wreck, and the bell in the church was taken from that wreck. It is a Grade II listed building.

In 1821 a new west gallery and two new pews in the chancel were added by Bernard S. Herris


Resources

Civil Registration


Births, marriages and deaths were kept by the government from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is Free BMD.


Church records

St Agness (Scillys), Cornwall parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

FREG = FreeREG - free[2]
St Agness (Scillys), Cornwall Online Parish Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FREG 1677-1794, 1800-1901
1677-1794
1677-1794, 1869-1885


Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 241275.

Probate records


Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Cornwall Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

There are many maps and gazetteers showing English places. Valuable web sites are:

  • 1851 Jurisdiction Maps
  • Vision of Britain

Websites

References

  1. 1870-72, John Marius Wilson, Imperial Gazetteer of England and Wales
  2. 'Cornwall Coverage', FreeREG, accessed 18 November 2013.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 30 November 2014, at 06:22.
  • This page has been accessed 667 times.