St Alphage London WallEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England Gotoarrow.png London Gotoarrow.png London Parishes Gotoarrow.png St Alphage London Wall

London St Alphage London Wall family history and genealogy research page. Guide to parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

St Alphage London Wall
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred London, Within the Walls
County London
Poor Law Union City of London PLU
Registration District London City
Records begin
Parish registers: 1613
Bishop's Transcripts: 1629-30; 1639-40; 1800
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery None
Diocese London
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Archdeaconry of London
Location of Archive
London Record Office

Contents

Parish History

"St Alphage, the church of is situated in Aldermanbury and London wall, having an entrance from each. It derives its name from St Alphage or Elphage, a noble Saxon saint, and Archbishop of Canterbury, who was murdered at Greenwich by the Danes, in the year 1013. The former church, which was a small and mean edifice, escaped the flames in 1666, but has been recently rebuilt from the designs of the younger Mr. George Dance. It has the singularity of having elliptical columns instead of circular, where, being attached to the wall in a very narrow street, great projection could not be obtained,and consequently produce a better effect of light and shade from the depth of the undercutting, than either pilasters or half columns. The living is a rectory in the patronage of the Bishop of London..."[1]

Also known as "St Alphege London Wall."

LONDON, is the metropolis of the United Kingdom, the seat of government, and the principal port of the empire, forming a city and county of itself. It contains, with some of the adjoining parishes, which may be considered as forming part of the metropolis. As well as about 280 meeting-houses for dissenters. These latter chiefly belong to Independents, Wesleyans, Baptists, and Calvinistic Methodists; about twenty of them are devoted to Roman Catholic worship.

1848 parish description:

St. Alphage is a parish of the city of London Within the Walls. The patron is the Bishop. It is a parish within the poor-law union of the City of London.[2]

Resources

Church records

Online St Alphage London Wall Parish Register Images and Indexes
 
Baptisms
Marriages
Burials
Earliest
1613
1613
1614
Images
1613-1812 Ancestry baptisms, marriages, and burials[3]
1813-1906 Ancestry[4] 1754-1836 Ancestry[5] 1813-1848 Ancestry[6]
Indexes 1813-1863 FamilySearch[7] 1613-1837 British Origins[8] 1614-1849 FindMyPast[9]
    1613-1837 FindMyPast[10] 1813-1851 FindMyPast[11]
    1754-1885

FamilySearch[12]

1813-1851 BritishOrigins[13]
    1800-1837 Ancestry[14]    

To find the names of the neighbouring parishes, use England Jurisdictions 1851. In this site, search for the name of the parish, click on the location "pin", click Options and click List contiguous parishes.


Census records

1541 Subsidy

1547 Subsidy

  • St Alphage, London Wall, Cripplegate Ward, London (The National Archives, Ref: E179/145/142); copy: FHL Film 2228700.

1582 Subsidy

1666 Hearth Tax

St Giles without Cripplegate.png

1667 Hearth Tax

  • St Alphage, London Wall, Cripplegate Within Ward, London (The National Archives, Ref: E179/147/630); copy: FHL Film 2228702.

1692-1932 Land Taxes

1695 Inhabitants Lists

Contributor: Include an overview if there is any unique information, such as the census for X year was destroyed. Add a link to online sites for indexes and/or images. Also add a link to the FamilySearch Catalog showing the film numbers in their collection.

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish.

Before 1858, St Alphage London Wall fell under the jurisdiction of the Court of the Archdeaconry of London. In practice, many residents left their wills in the Prerogative Court of Canterbury from the 1700s through 1858.[15] From 1858 to the present, refer to the Principal Probate Registry.

Go to London Probate Records to find the names of the courts having secondary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Cemetery

St Alphage churchyard site

Transcripts of early St Alphage London Wall tombs found in the interior of the church were published in Catalogue of the most Memorable Persons who had visible Tombs, plated Gravestones ... in the City of London (through) A.D. 1700, which is available online.[16]

A cemetery survey (1910), available online, covers monumental inscriptions in the St Alphege London Wall churchyard.[17]

Records of the Poor

Contributor: Add information about the pertinent poor law unions in the area.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

(The London Family History Centre Catalogue is a terrific resource for identifying FamilySearch's London collections).
Wikipedia
Wikipedia has more about this subject: St Alphage London Wall

References

  1. James Elmes, A Topographical Dictionary of London and its Environs (London: Whittaker, Treacher and Arnot, 1831). Adapted. Digitized by Google Books.
  2. Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 129-170 Adapted. Date accessed: 12 November 2013.
  3. London, England, Baptisms, Marriages, and Burials, 1538-1812, courtesy: Ancestry (£). Described as St Alphage London Wall in the City of London. Marriages from 1754 to 1812 are not included in this database. Partially indexed.
  4. London, England, Births and Baptisms, 1813-1906, courtesy: Ancestry (£). Described as St Alphage London Wall in the City of London. Partially indexed.
  5. London, England, Marriages and Banns, 1754-1921, courtesy: Ancestry (£). Described as St Alphage London Wall in the City of London. Partially indexed.
  6. London, England, Deaths and Burials, 1813-1980, courtesy: Ancestry (£). Described as St Alphage London Wall in the City of London. Partially indexed.
  7. Batch C041301, see: Hugh Wallis, 'IGI Batch Numbers for London including Middlesex (A-M), England,' IGI Batch Numbers, accessed 8 June 2011. Indexes parish register transcripts.
  8. 'Webb's London Marriages - Marriages, periods and parishes/churches,' British Origins, accessed 4 July 2011.
  9. 'Boyd's London Burials Index - places and counts,' Find My Past, accessed 8 June 2011. Indexes adult male burials only.
  10. 'Boyd's Marriage Index - Parish details by county,' Origins.net, accessed 12 June 2011; Percival Boyd, A List of Parishes in Boyd's Marriage Index (London: Society of Genealogists Enterprises Ltd., 1994). FHL Book 942 K22L 1994
  11. John Hanson, "City of London Burials," Find My Past, accessed 8 June 2011.
  12. Batch M041301, see: Hugh Wallis, 'IGI Batch Numbers for London including Middlesex (A-M), England,' IGI Batch Numbers, accessed 8 June 2011. Indexes parish register transcripts.
  13. 'Greater London Burials: Middlesex and City of London Burials: Parishes, Counts and References,' British Origins, accessed 4 April 2013.
  14. Pallot's Marriage and Birth Indexes, Guide to Parishes (n.p.: n.p., n.d.). FHL British Book 942 V25pm
  15. "About Archdeaconry Court of London Wills Index 1750-1800", British Origins, accessed 23 December 2011.
  16. Payne Fisher and G. Blacker Morgan, Catalogue of the Tombs in the Churches of the City of London, A.D. 1666 (1668; reprint, London: Hasell, Watson, Viney, Ld., 1885). Digitised by Internet Archive.
  17. Percy C. Rushden, The Churchyard Inscriptions of the City of London (London: Phillimore and Co., Ltd., 1910). Digitised by Internet Archive.


 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 18 July 2014, at 22:45.
  • This page has been accessed 4,697 times.